Sune Luus to lead South Africa in ICC Women’s World Cup, Squad Announced

Sune Luss is all set to captain the South African Women’s team in the upcoming 50-over ICC Women’s World Cup. The eight-team tournament will get underway in New Zealand with a round-robin group stage, and then the top four teams will go on to battle in the semi-finals and finals.


South Africa all-rounder Sune Luus (Gallo Images)
South Africa all-rounder Sune Luus (Gallo Images)


Cricket South Africa on Friday named a 15-member squad plus three traveling reserves. Regular captain Dane Van Niekerk will be missing from the action due to a freak injury she picked up when she slipped at home.

Luus was named captain for the ODI series against the West Indies. Chloe Tryon will be her deputy.

South Africa along with Australia, England, and India automatically qualified for the World Cup based on their standing in the ICC Women’s Championship between 2017-2020.

Marizanne Kapp and Lizelle Lee have been included in the 15-player squad. All-rounder Nadine de Klerk couldn’t find a place in the 15 but has been included in the traveling reserve. Clinton du Preez, convenor of selectors for South Africa said, “This is an exciting time for all involved, especially the players and management. The most exciting thing about this squad that’s going to the World Cup is that it complements our planning and our strategic selections over a period of time.”

She further added,” “The squad was not just brought together in the last few months, it’s a process that we commenced in 2017 and we identified certain areas that we needed to strengthen. There were strategic selections made through various camps and tours that we’ve had and played prior to this.

“In 2020, when we went to New Zealand, we clinched the ODI series, and from there that just set the tone for us to go and push on for the ODI World Cup and I think it is important that all the hard work has been put in, including the selections for the playing conditions that we see ourselves facing.

Also Read:  Match 49: Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming

“Our team is ready to compete, and our team is ready to go further than just the semi-final berth and go and try and clinch the World Cup.”

The Proteas Women will kick-off their world cup campaign against Bangladesh on 5th March.

South Africa Women’s Squad:

Suné Luus (captain), Chloé Tryon , Ayabonga Khaka , Lara Goodall , Laura Wolvaardt , Lizelle Lee, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Klaas, Mignon du Preez, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Tumi Sekhukhune.

Traveling reserves:

Anneke Bosch, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here