Australia Women presented with ICC Women’s Championship trophy

The world-dominating force Australia claimed another feather on their cap as they were bestowed with the ICC Women’s Championship trophy which they have managed to retain after the season of 2017-20. They were honored with the coveted trophy just before the start of their match against India in the ongoing Commonwealth Bank Tri-Nation tournament.


Australia presented with ICC Women's Championship trophy
Australia presented with ICC Women’s Championship trophy. Credits: ICC


Captain Meg Lanning was called up to be presented the trophy on behalf of the entire Australian team on this monumental achievement by her team for the second consecutive time which also means that her team will have qualified for the 2021 world cup to be held in New Zealand with 34 points from 18 games with a series still to be played against South Africa and are at the top of the table with England & South Africa being the other two teams with 29 & 22 points respectively


Sri Lanka Women's Tour of Australia
Australian Women’s Cricket Team Newcastle


ICC Women’s Cricket Manager, Holly Colvin presented the trophy to the Australian skipper Meg Lanning and Meg on this occasion said, ”It’s pleasing to have won the ICC Women’s Championship for the second time and of course, to have secured our spot at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand next year. It’s going to be a tightly fought tournament and one we’re looking forward to.

The Championship has been a great addition, giving more context to the ODIs we play and proving more opportunities for us to play against the other seven teams involved. With the T20 World Cup not far off it’s been vital playing against the likes of Pakistan and Sri Lanka who we haven’t played against a lot in the past. We’ve been able to learn more about them and the way they go about things which helps us prepare for major tournaments.”

Holly Colvin also had some of her wisdom to share, “On behalf of the ICC, I congratulate Meg and her team for their fine performances during the championship, which can be demanding because you have to perform against all the leading sides of the world. Australia displayed remarkable consistency to win it comfortably.”

Also Read:  MCC Women's team to tour Nepal for 6 Matches

Since New Zealand will host the tournament in 2021, they automatically qualify for the world cup which leaves the other teams to battle it out to qualify on account of points for direct qualification. The rest will have to play the qualifiers to be held in Sri Lanka from 3-19 July.

Source: ICC

A cricket enthusiast ,fascinated about the sport and help the game spread globally.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here