New Zealand to host Women’s World Cup 2021

Recently ICC Women’s World Cup CEO Andrea Nelson announced a plan for the next world cup which going to be held in New Zealand. There will be Six host cities covering the entire tournament – Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Tauranga, Christchurch, Dunedin. Eight nations will take part, commencing from 6th February till 7th March. Eden Park will host the opening while Christchurch’s Hagley Park will host the final game.


ICC Women's World Cup Trophy
ICC Women’s World Cup Trophy. Pic Credits: ICC

“Our goal was to ensure all 31 matches will be played at the best venues, encompassing a geographic spread that ensured as many Kiwi sports fans as possible get to engage with the tournament,” Nelson said.

“It was great to see the enthusiasm from so many cities bidding for a chance to welcome the best players in the world to their back yard. “We’re absolutely thrilled with the outcome of that robust process and the cities that are now locked in,” she added.

This announcement was followed by a game of beach cricket featuring global cricketing superstar Mithali Raj, White Ferns’ skipper Sophie Devine and teammates Suzie Bates and Amelia Kerr, BLACKCAPS Tom Latham and Henry Nicholls and 2000 World Cup winners Emily Drumm and Rebecca Rolls were also present to enhance the moment.

Newly appointed WHITE FERNS captain Sophie Devine said: “to have the opportunity to play in the World Cup on home soil back where it all began for me in Wellington”.

India’s veteran global superstar Mithali Raj was in the land of Kiwi’s on this occasion– “Playing for your country is always a special feeling and we’re all very excited to play in the beautiful country of New Zealand, Women’s cricket is slowly getting access to center stage so it’s important that we continue to grow this interest around the world,” she says.

Also Read:  Video: Deandra Dottin takes a Stunning One Handed Catch

ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 Chair, Liz Dawson, said: “This incredible event will underline the progress that has been made in the global game and the tremendous opportunities that now exist for women and girls in cricket. The hundreds of thousands of children across the planet who will be inspired to take up the game, and indeed much greater interest in the game overall, will be one of the great legacies of this World Cup.”

Manu Sawhney, ICC Chief Executive, said the event would highlight the massive increase in global engagement with women’s cricket. “ICC is committed to growing the women’s game and this event is another step forward on that journey and part of our continued investment in the game to provide a global platform for the world’s best players. Women’s cricket has huge potential for growth and the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 gives us a fantastic opportunity to realise that. I’d like to thank our host cities for sharing in our ambition and I know the New Zealand sport loving public will be out in force to support the teams. The eyes of the cricketing world will be on New Zealand in February and March 2021 as the best female players on the planet converge to put on what will be an incredible show.”

New Zealand Cricket CEO, David White said the World Cup would be a significant milestone- “This will be a spectacular event that will help further engage, and grow, an appreciative new audience for the game. We’re looking forward to showcasing the best of our sport and our country to the rest of the world.”

Also Read:  Lisa Sthalekar inducted into ICC's Hall of Fame, becomes 9th Female Cricketer

Emily Drumm, who captained the WHITE FERNS to victory in the 2000 Women’s Cricket World Cup and is now a television commentator, said – “It’s great to see our hard-working women finally getting the exposure they deserve – including the chance to play at the country’s major cricketing venues,” she said.

Economic Development Minister Phil Twyford said hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 aligns with the Government Strategy for Women and Girls in Sport and Active Recreation

“Sharing the matches across Wellington, Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Tauranga and Hamilton will give everyone a chance to watch women’s cricket and be part of the action. “The Cricket World Cup is the start of two big years for women’s sport and has secured funding through the government’s Major Events Fund. We can also look forward to hosting the Rugby World Cup in 2021 and the 8th World Conference of the International Working Group on Women in Sport in 2022.”

The full match schedule will be announced when the event is officially launched in March.

Hosted in New Zealand from February 6 to March 7, 2021
Eight nations
31 matches
6 host cities: Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Tauranga, Christchurch, Dunedin

Source: ICC

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here