Group A: Round IV – Gujarat, Andhra and Jharkhand emerge victorious over Meghalaya, Assam and Madhya Pradesh

Date: 18 October 2019

Match 1: Gujarat vs Meghalaya

Venue: RVR & JC College Ground, Guntur

Gujarat batted first in their Round 4 game against Meghalaya. Opener Simran Patel made a half-century, scoring 56 runs in 43 balls. Sarvi Shah complemented her opening partner with her 26 runs off 31 deliveries. Captain Renuka Chaudhari 19(17) and Krutikaben Chaudhari 22(11) played unbeaten knocks. Trisha Kama Bera of Meghalaya took 3 wickets. Gujarat finished on 144/6.

In reply, Meghalaya got bowled out in 18 overs making only 67 runs. Vandana Mahajan 28(34) was playing a lone battle in the middle.

Result: Gujarat won by 77 runs.

Match 2: Andhra vs Assam

Venue: RVR & JC College Ground, Guntur

It was a close match between the two teams at Guntur. Assam batted first and posed a score of 145 runs. Opener Monika Das smashed 70 runs in 40 balls while wicketkeeper batter Sapna Choudhary made 42 runs in 35 balls. Andhra’s Padmaja Ellutla scalped 3 of the 8 wickets that fell.

Andhra’s performance of the batting unit saw them chase the score successfully in the last over albeit losing 5 wickets. Openers Anusha Neeruggati and Jhansi Challa made 42(43) and 30(10) respectively. Vurukuti Latha made 31 in as many balls.

Result: Andhra won by 5 wickets.

Match 3: Jharkhand vs Madhya Pradesh

Venue: RVR & JC College Ground, Guntur

It was a low scoring thriller between the two sides. Jharkhand batted first and set a target of 97 for Madhya Pradesh. They also got bowled out in the 20 overs. Ruma Mahato 34(34) top scored for her side. As many as 2 bowlers from Madhya Pradesh earned a 4-wicket haul. Priyanka Koushal and Nikita Singh were the bowlers who scalped 4 wickets apiece.

Also Read:  Group C: Round V - Hyderabad and Karnataka defeat Pondicherry and Nagaland by 10 wickets - Senior Women's T20 Trophy 2019

A calculative chase by Madhya Pradesh saw them reach close to the total. Pooja Vastrakar was opening for them and she scored 19 runs in 18 balls. Nikita Singh played an unbeaten knock of 24(32) and Priti Yadav also made 21(22). Still, they could not chase the target. They ended on 91/6.

Result: Jharkhand won by 5 runs.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here