Group B: Round III – Haryana, Vidarbha and Rajasthan bag wins over Sikkim, Jammu and Kashmir and Odisha

Group B: Round III – Haryana, Vidarbha and Rajasthan bag wins over Sikkim, Jammu & Kashmir and Odisha – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019

Date: 18 October 2019

Match 1: Haryana vs Sikkim

Venue: VCA Stadium, Nagpur

Haryana who won the toss and decided to bat first made the most out of the innings. Captain Sheetal Rana led the team to 166/4. She played a captain’s knock – 46 runs in 42 balls and was the highest scorer of the side. Shafali Verma too scored a well made 37 off 17 and Bhawna Ohlan made 32 runs in 35 balls.

Sikkim, on the other hand, couldn’t match up to Haryana’s performance. Captain Ananya Upendran made 12 off 10 while wicketkeeper Tshering Lepcha made 14 in 24. Number 3 batter Archana Das scored the most – 26 off 42 and remained unbeaten while Shubhi Pandey made 17 runs in 16 balls. At the end of the innings, Sikkim could only score 86 runs losing 7 wickets.

Result: Haryana won by 80 runs.

Match 2: Jammu & Kashmir vs Vidarbha

Venue: VCA KALAMNA, Nagpur

Batting first, Jammu and Kashmir could score only 55 runs and got bowled by the Vidarbha team in 20 overs. Only Rubia Sheikh scored a double-digit score – 24 off 26 while none of the other batters could make more than 6 runs. 4 out of 10 dismissals happened in the form of run-outs.

Vidarbha had a comfortable chase. Openers Disha Kasat 28(27) and Vaishnavi Khandkar 23(15) scored the majority of the runs. And when Khandkar fell in the 7th over, it was only a matter of time the chase would complete. Captain Bharti Fulmali joined Kasat in the middle and they chased the target in 8.3 overs.

Also Read:  Group A: Round V - Andhra and Madhya Pradesh defeat Meghalaya and Gujarat - Senior Women's T20 Trophy 2019

Result: Vidarbha won by 9 wickets.

Match 3: Odisha vs Rajasthan

Venue: VCA Stadium, Nagpur

Rajasthan started poorly with losing both their openers in 3 overs. But they recovered well courtesy the partnership between Ayushi Garg 21(29) and Anita Choudhary 42(40). Sangeeta Kumawat made an unbeaten 37 off 22 balls. Rajasthan finished on 125/7.

Odisha lost its captain and opener Madhusmita Behera on a duck in the first over. Madhuri Mehta made 29 in 33 balls and Pragyan Mohanty scored 23 in 29 runs. Odisha could only make 83 runs and lose 5 wickets in what was an unsuccessful chase.

Result: Team Rajasthan won by 42 runs.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here