A last over chase hands Andhra victory over Vidarbha – Round I of Super League

A last over chase hands Andhra victory over Vidarbha – Round I of Super League – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019


It’s time for the Super League stage of the tournament now. Top 2 teams from the 5 groups of the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy are shortlisted into two groups. The selected teams will play against each other to go to the next stage.

Andhra played with Vidarbha at Devineni Venkata Ramana Praneetha Ground, Mulapadu. The match which was reduced to 16-overs per side, saw the two teams giving a neck to neck performance.

After winning the toss, Vidarbha elected to bat first. Opener Disha Kasat 14(21) and Vaishnavi Khandkar 22(28) gave the team a decent start. But things changed when captain Bharti Fulmali and wicketkeeper Latika Inamdar were both dismissed on ducks. Krutika Pophali then stabilized the innings with her unbeaten 25 off 21. Nupur Kohale 14(7) and Komal Zanzad 11(10) contributed valuable runs, the latter remaining not out. Vidarbha finished on 93/6.

Anjali Sarvani Kesavarajugari, Chandra Gadwal, and Padmaja Ellutla shared all 6 wickets between them, each bagging 2.

Andhra didn’t have a good start with their top 3 batters departing on single digits. But Hima Sikala 14(13) and Padmaja Ellutla 21(23) made sure that they take the chase deep. Venkata Pothineni scored 30 in 24 balls and along with Padmaja, took her team across the line in the final over of the innings. Andhra won over Vidarbha by 5 wickets.

Nupur Kohale of Vidarbha got 2 wickets while Komal Zanzad, Kanchan Nagwani, and Vaishnavi Khandkar had each 1 wicket to their names.

Also Read:  Semifinal 1: Bengal chase Baroda's total to advance to the final of Senior Women's T20 Trophy

Vidarbha: 93/6 in 16 overs

Andhra: 98/5 in 15.2 overs

Result: Andhra won by 5 wickets.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here