Nepal Women’s National Cricket Team – Squad List, News, Latest Updates

Brief History of Nepal Women’s National Cricket Team

The Nepal women’s national cricket team represents Nepal in international women’s cricket, with a rich history of participation in various tournaments. With the ICC’s decision to grant full Women’s Twenty20 International (WT20I) status to all its members in April 2018, Nepal embraced this new era. Their inaugural WT20I match took place on January 12, 2019, against China at the 2019 Thailand Women’s T20 Smash in Bangkok, where they finished as runners-up, falling to Thailand in the final by 70 runs.

Nepal National Women's Cricket Team on
Nepal National Women’s Cricket Team on

Performance Highlights – Nepal Women’s National Cricket Team

The Nepal women’s team have had several significant milestones, with notable achievements including winning the 2008 and 2010 ACC Under-19 Women’s Championship, a remarkable moment occurred in the 2009 ACC Women’s Twenty20 in Malaysia when Rubina Chhetry’s miraculous performance led Nepal to victory, making her the first Nepalese cricketer, male or female, to achieve a hat-trick.

Nepal’s journey in the qualification pathway for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup has been marked by resilience. Despite falling short in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier in 2016 and 2019, finishing second in the points table, they continued to strive for excellence. In the Asia Cup, Nepal finished seventh in 2012 and sixth in 2016, showcasing their perseverance on the regional stage.

Nepal’s consistent performances in ACC tournaments underline their determination. They finished as runners-up in the 2007 ACC Women’s Tournament and secured third and fourth positions in the 2009 and 2011 ACC Women’s Twenty20 Championship, respectively. Their journey in the ACC Women’s Premier Cup 2024 saw them advance to the semi-final but ultimately finish fourth.

Also Read:  Who is Kajal Shrestha | Bio | Stats | Nepal Player

Nepal’s success extends to events like the Asian Games and South Asian Games. They claimed the fifth position in both the 2010 and 2014 Asian Games and secured the third position, earning a Bronze medal, in the 2019 South Asian Games.

Nepal National Women's Cricket Team on
Nepal National Women’s Cricket Team on

Squad – Nepal Women’s National Cricket Team

Sita Rana Magar
Apsari Begam
Indu Barma
Rubina Chhetry
Suman Bist
Ishwori Bist
Khusi Dangol
Kabita Joshi
Kanchan Shrestha
Ashmina Karmacharya
Sony Pakhrin
Puja Mahato
Bindu Rawal
Roma Thapa
Sabnam Rai
Samjhana Khadka
Sangita Rai
Kajal Shrestha
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here