Which countries have hosted Women’s T20 World Cup events?

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup has been played in many countries worldwide since its inception in 2009. England hosted the inaugural edition of the competition and since has been hosted by India, Sri Lanka, Australia, South Africa, and now Bangladesh in 2024. This shows that women’s cricket is becoming more and more popular, and each country that hosts the event brings its special cricket environment and atmosphere. The World Cup traveling to all these different nations shows the growing interest and excitement for women’s cricket globally.

Which countries have hosted Women's T20 World Cup events?
Which countries have hosted Women’s T20 World Cup events?

2009 – England

The very first ICC Women’s T20 World Cup took place in 2009 and was hosted by England. Three famous cricket grounds in the country – County Ground in Taunton, Trent Bridge in Nottingham, and the renowned Oval in London – were selected to host the matches. As the tournament progressed, the excitement and anticipation among fans kept building, reaching a crescendo in the nail-biting final played at the iconic Lord’s Cricket Ground in London. It was a dream come true for the host nation England to make it to the final against New Zealand. Displaying immense skill and determination, the English women’s team emerged victorious, clinching their first-ever T20 World Cup trophy on home turf amid scenes of wild celebration. This historic triumph signaled the dawn of a new era for women’s cricket, captivating fans across the globe and sparking greater interest in the sport.

2010 – West Indies

The second edition of this tournament was played in the West Indies, in 2010. Kensington Oval, Beausejour Gros let, and Warner Park were the three stadiums hosting the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2010. The inaugural 2009 Women’s T20 WC reached its thrilling climax at the hallowed Lord’s Cricket Ground in London, while in the 2010 World Cup, two cricketing giants, Australia and New Zealand, battled it out in a gripping final. It was a nail-biting encounter that kept fans on the edge of their seats until the very last ball. In a display of sheer grit and skill, Australia emerged victorious by a mere 3 runs, etching their name in history as the first-ever champions of the T20 World Cup.

Also Read:  8 Promising Female talents awarded Development Contracts by New Zealand Cricket

2012 – Sri Lanka

2012 was the year when the third edition of this exciting tournament took place in Sri Lanka. Galle International Stadium, Galle was selected as the venue for all the group stage matches, and Moors Sports Club Ground, Colombo was selected for the knockout games. Once again, last edition’s finalists met in the final and as usual, repeating the previous World Cup’s history, Australia this time also won the thrilling match against England by a close margin of 4 runs. In the 2012 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, Australia became the first team to defend their title in the T20 world cup.

2014 – Bangladesh

The 2014 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup was hosted by Bangladesh, with matches being played across two venues, the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, and the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. The final was contested between England and Australia at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium Mirpur. Australia, led by Meg Lanning, emerged victorious, defeating the mighty England by 6 wickets to claim their third consecutive T20 World Cup title.

2016 – India

The 2016 Women’s Cricket World Cup was held in India across six venues – Delhi, Dharamshala, Mohali, Bengaluru, Kolkata, and Nagpur. The final took place on 3rd April 2016, at Eden Garden, Kolkata. The two teams that contested the final were Australia and West Indies. It was a closely fought match, but West Indies registered an 8-wicket win, getting hands on their first-ever T20 World Cup.

2018 – West Indies

The 2018 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup was hosted by the West Indies across three venues – Guyana National Stadium in Providence, Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, and Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound. The final was played on November 24, 2018, at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium between Australia and England. The host nation, West Indies, could not make it to the final as familiar rivals, Australia and England faced off in the Final. Continuing their dominance, Australia stormed to the final, which they won by 8 wickets, claiming their fourth T20 World Cup title.

Also Read:  West Indies' All-Rounder Chinelle Henry ruled out of the series due to concussion

2020 – Australia

In 2020, Australia hosted the 7th edition of the T20 World Cup. Sydney Showground Stadium, WACA Ground, Junction Oval, Manuka Oval, and Melbourne Cricket Ground were the stadiums selected as venues for this WC. The final was played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground between Australia and India. Hosts Australia had made it to the final and went on to successfully defend their title by defeating India by 85 runs. Australia’s Beth Mooney was declared the Player of the Match for her brilliant knock of 78* off 49 balls that helped Australia post a challenging total. This was Australia’s 6th T20 World Cup triumph.

2023 – South Africa

The 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup was hosted by South Africa across five venues – Newlands in Cape Town, Boland Park in Paarl, St George’s Park in Gqebera, Boland Park in Paarl, and Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. The final took place at Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town, between Australia and South Africa. Australia continued their dominant run in T20 World Cups, defeating South Africa by 19 runs to claim their 6th title in this ICC event.

2024 – Bangladesh

The 2024 Women’s T20 World Cup scheduled to commence on October 3, is scheduled to be hosted by Bangladesh across several venues – Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, and Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. Following the league stages, the final will be played at the Sylhet International Stadium on October 20. The tournament will feature the top 10 women’s T20I teams competing for the title.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here