Cricket South Africa (CSA) announces annual awards

South Africa Women captain Dane van Niekerk was named the South Africa Women’s cricketer of the Year in the annual award function of Cricket South Africa held in Pretoria on 3rd of August, 2019. Niekerk won the prestigious award for the third time in the last four years. She was also adjourned the South Africa Women’s Players’ Player of the Year based on the nomination from her own team-mates. CSA Chief Executive Thabang Moroe said, “Faf and Dane have both had very good years, both as contributors in their specific disciplines and also in the leadership qualities they bring to our two senior national sides.” “Just how much Dane means to our women’s team became evident when she was ruled out of action for a considerable period of time through injury”, he added.

Marizanne Kapp won the ODI Player of the Year award while Shabnim Ismail was awarded as the T20 International Player of the Year. The International Women’s Newcomer of the Year award went to Tumi Sekhukhune. In an another award function dedicated to honour the amateur players, all-rounder Sune Luus bagged the CSA Women’s Provisional Cricketer of the Year award.

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Also Read:  Final: Southern Brave vs Oval Invincibles Women | Squads | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here