Kenya Women’s National Cricket League titled ‘Emily Ruto Memorial Cup’ announced

There’s a great bit of development in context to cricket growing in associate nations with Kenya announcing the inaugural season of a women’s national cricket league.


Squad Analysis – Kenya Women for 2022 Commonwealth Games Cricket Qualifier


The inaugural season of the Women’s National Cricket League gets underway on 23rd July 2022. The league comprises Super Division and Division One. The trophy for the Super Division is named after the former captain, Emily Ruto, and hence will be called the Emily Ruto Memorial Cup. To add on, for any female cricketer to get into the Kenya international team across any age group, they must play in the upcoming Kenya Women’s National Cricket League.

Emily Ruto, a former Kenya player and skipper who died of Leukemia aged 25 back in 2014. Ruto’s last game for Kenya was back in 2010 before she lost her battle to Leukemia on 24th October 2014. The little Emily Ruto had played, her best knock had come against Rwanda with a 76* to her name.

Kenya’s latest feature in international cricket is in mid-June. Kenya alongside a few more nations featured in the Kwibuka Women’s Twenty20 tournament 2022. Kenya made it to the final of the tournament but lost to Tanzania in a low-scoring final encounter in Rwanda.

Also Read:  What is Chance to Shine programme?
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here