USA Cricket Announces New Panel of Women’s National Team Selectors

USA Cricket recently announced the new panel of National Selectors for the USA Women’s National Cricket Team. With the improvements in Women’s game and progress of development in the United States cricket, it became an important step to introduce this panel.


Joan Alexander-Serrano will Chair the new panel
Joan Alexander-Serrano will Chair the new panel. Pic Credits:

It is the first time USA Cricket has set up a Women’s Selection Panel which is totally separate from the Men’s selection panel. This initiative has been taken to encourage Women Cricket in the USA.

Last November, a review of the role, structure, and composition of the National Selection Panels was done. The selection policy for all the USA’s National Teams was undertaken. Moreover, USA Cricket invited applications for the roles of National Selectors.

The USA Cricket Committee then met to review these applications and sort listed the following five selectors to be appointed to the new panel of USA Women’s National Team Selectors, with each of the five positions having either a 2 or 3-year term to ensure continuity moving forward.

  • Joan Alexander-Serrano – Chair (PA, 2 years)
  • Patricia Whittaker (NY, 2 years)
  • Ritesh Kadu (CA, 3 years)
  • Jyotsa Patel (FL, 3 years)
  • Deepali Rokade (NJ, 3 years)

During this time, the selectors have an opportunity to work with the USA Women’s National Team Head Coach, Julia Price. They can work to collaborate and have a mutual selection philosophy that supports the objectives of the High-Performance Plan for women and girls.

“Women’s cricket is a significant potential growth area for USA Cricket and I am delighted that we have taken such a positive step with the appointment of the new dedicated Women’s National Team Selection Panel,” said USA Cricket CEO Iain Higgins.

“On behalf of USA Cricket, I would like to acknowledge the quality of all of the candidates that submitted applications for the Women’s National Team Selection Panel and we would like to thank everyone for the overwhelming levels of interest generally.  I would also like to place on record our thanks and appreciation to the selectors (Joan Alexander-Serrano, Patricia Whittaker and Julie Abbott) who have performed this role admirably over the past few years,” averred Iain Higgins. 

Also Read:  Who is Jivana Aras | Bio | Stats | USA Player

News Source:

Female Cricket is a digital news portal that aims to spread, share and celebrate the journey of our female cricketers around the world.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here