Rathi and Janani become a part of ICC development Panel of umpires

On Wednesday, Mumbai’s Vrinda Rathi along with Tamil Nadu’s N Janani were inducted into the ICC Development Panel of umpires. The two umpires were informed about the development by a senior BCCI official through a letter.


Indian umpires Janani Narayanan and Vrinda Rathi named in ICC panel
Indian umpires Janani Narayanan and Vrinda Rathi named in ICC panel. Pic Credits: BCCI


Rathi started her career as a scorer and then went on to become an umpire. She had officiated in the T20 Mumbai League. She became the first Indian female umpire to have officiated a competitive T20 cricket match.

Rathi has played cricket in Mumbai University as a medium pacer. She was inspired by the International Female Cricket Umpire Kathy Cross. She cleared her BCCI level 2 exams, which is necessary to become eligible for umpiring at international levels.

This Mumbai based umpire has officiated matches in Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) and was BCCI affiliated scorer. She has also participated in the 2013 Women’s World Cup in New Zealand.

The 34-year old N Janani looks up to the late David Shepherd of England and retired India umpire S Venkatraghavan, who has been umpiring in Indian domestic tournaments since 2018.

Janani said: “It feels great to know that Vrinda and I have been inducted into the ICC’s development panel. This gives me the chance to learn from seniors on the circuit and improve in the years to come. Cricket has become part of my daily routine since the 90s and I look forward to being associated with the sport at a higher level.

 “I take this opportunity to thank the BCCI for the opportunities given and the ICC for giving me this break. I would like to thank Mr. Radhakrishnan, who has been my mentor since I first started umpiring. I would also like to thank my parents who never stopped me from watching cricket on TV, my senior umpires Sai Darshan, Ashwin Kumar, and all my state panel umpires, national panel umpires, and referees who have helped me learn and grow,” Janani added.

Also Read:  BCCI to allow female umpires to officiate during the upcoming Ranji Trophy 2022

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) wrote on its Twitter handle: “Mumbai Cricket Association congratulates Ms. Vrinda Rathi (Mumbai Cricket Association) and Ms. Janani N (Tamil Nadu Cricket Association) on being inducted in the ICC Development Panel of Umpires.

Other ICC women match officials include: GS Lakshmi, Shandre Fritz (International Panel Match Referees); Lauren Agenbag, Kim Cotton, Shivani Mishra, Claire Polosak, Sue Redfern, Eloise Sheridan, Mary Waldron, Jacquline Williams (all International Panel of ICC Development Umpires).

News Source: PTI

Female Cricket is a digital news portal that aims to spread, share and celebrate the journey of our female cricketers around the world.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here