South Africa Women Squad for series against West Indies announced, Sune Luus to lead

Suné Luus will lead South Africa in a four-match series against the West Indies. The series will kick off on Friday, 28th January at the Wanderers.

Dane’ van Niekerk will be missing from the action for the Proteas because of a fractured ankle. She will not miss the West Indies series but also the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand.


Sune Luus. Pic Credits:
Sune Luus. Pic Credits:


Lizelle Lee, the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, will also be absent from the series as she’s infected with Covid-19 and will take time to recover.

Selection convenor for South Africa, Clinton du Preez said, ”Suné has really managed the captaincy quite well in absence of our leaders, Dané and Chloé(Tryon), and we are quite excited to be giving her the role again.”

“In our conversations with her, she really rolled out the pathway for us, getting through the West Indies tour and for the World Cup.”

Luus has previously lead South Africa 16 times, including a home series against Pakistan last year and in the successful away series against India in 2021.

The 26-year old , however, hasn’t officially been named captain for the mega ICC ODI World Cup. She’s being given this role for what will be the final preparations for South Africa ahead of the World Cup.

Du Preez said, “We are quite happy to have her back in that role and I am sure the leadership and the senior players in the team will give her massive support. Chloé as the vice-captain is a great combination between the two individuals and personalities and we think it will be a balanced approach for our successes.”

After a three-year gap off-spinner, Raisibe Ntozakhe was recalled to the squad. She was banned by the ICC for an illegal action in 2018, ahead of the World Cup.

Also Read:  Marizanne Kapp wins Player of the Month Award for June 2022

Hilton Moreeng, South African coach, said his side would use the opportunity to test a few different combinations.

South Africa Women’s squad :

Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinola Jagta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus (captain), Nonkululeko Mlaba, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Andrie Steyn, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here