Who are the Uncapped Indian Players on the Australian Tour for ODI, T20I and D/N Test?

After a sensational game of cricket against England earlier this year, India Women’s team is all set to play against Australia across all three formats, 21st September onwards.

The tour would commence with three ODIs followed by a one-off historic test with team India being led by Mithali Raj, the highest run-scorer in Women’s International cricket in both formats. The team for the three T20Is following the test would be led by India’s batting powerhouse, Harmanpreet Kaur, and would see Renuka Singh Thakur as a new face in the squad while Yastika Bhatia and Meghna Singh have got called up for all three formats.


L-R: Meghana Singh, Yastika Bhatia and Renuka Singh Thakur
L-R: Meghana Singh, Yastika Bhatia and Renuka Singh Thakur


This is a maiden call-up for Meghna across all formats and in Test and T20 for Yastika who was a part of the ODI team for the series against South Africa was held in March this year.

Who is Renuka Singh Thakur?

Renuka Singh Thakur is a pacer from Himachal Pradesh who was the leading wicket-taker with 23 wickets in BCCI Women’s One-Day tournament in 2019. Earlier this year, she took nine wickets in the BCCI Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy. She is a student of the HPCA academy, the same academy from which we have Harleen Deol, the one who took one of the sensational catches of cricket against England.

Who is Yastika Bhatia?


Yastika Bhatia
Yastika Bhatia. Pic Credits: Kamlesh Surve / Times of India


Yastika Bhatia is a left-hand batter and the third wicketkeeper for the team after the experienced Taniya Bhatia and Pooja Ghosh. She is a good asset to the team looking at her success in the sport. In 2019, she was the captain of the Baroda team that finished third in their group in National U-23 Women’s T20 where she also scored a century. Later, she was a part of the India ‘A’ team which won the Asian Cricket Council Women’s Emerging Asia Cup.

Also Read:  India team announced for one-off Test, ODI and T20I series for Australia Tour

Who is Meghna Singh?

Pacer Meghna Singh earlier used to play for railways and was a part of the team which won Women’s Senior One Day Trophy where took five wickets playing under the captaincy of Mithali Raj. Hailing from Uttar Pradesh, she used to travel 24 Kms for training which started at 4 in the morning. She is the second woman from Uttar Pradesh to make it to the Indian team after Poonam Yadav.

The complete India Women squad for Australia Tour -:

ODI series and One-off Test: Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (Vice-Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Yastika Bhatia, Taniya Bhatia (Wicket Keeper), Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami, Meghna Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Richa Ghosh, Ekta Bisht.

T20 squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Yastika Bhatia, Shikha Pandey, Meghna Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Richa Ghosh (Wicket Keeper), Harleen Deol, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Renuka Singh Thakur.

Australian Squad for the series against India:

This squad looks like a very powerful one and it would be an exciting series to watch out for after a delay due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Yastika Bhatia, Renuka Singh Thakur, Hannah Darlington, Tahlia McGrath make T20I Debut
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here