Australia squad for T20 Women’s World Cup 2020 announced

The host has announced its squad for the upcoming T-20 World Cup 2020. Meg Lanning will be leading this 15-member squad.

Australia Women's Squad for World Cup 2020
Australia Women’s Squad for World Cup 2020

Australia has announced its squad for the T20 World cup. Australia Women’s team will play against India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and New Zealand in the pool rounds of the World Cup. The same squad will contest in the Tri-Series against England and India that will begin on January 31.

The 15-member squad has just two new addition to the team that played against Sri Lanka last October. Annabel Sutherland and Erin Burns are the additions.

This 18-year-old Sutherland is a surprise inclusion to the team, and she is all set for her world cup debut.

Speaking on the selection of Annabel Sutherland in the squad National Selector Shawn Flegler said

“We’re really pleased for Annabel Sutherland, who has been playing domestic cricket for a few years now, as well as being a part of Australia A and Under 19 sides. She has progressed significantly over the past few months. Anyone who has seen her play will know how special a talent she is, and we know that if called upon she’ll be able to play a variety of roles in the side. This will be another terrific experience for someone who we see as the future of Australian Cricket.”

Also, Sophie Molineux is set to return back in Australia’s national team who took a break due to mental health issues during this current season of WBBL.

“It’s also really pleasing to welcome Sophie Molineux back into the side, having spent some time out of the game for mental health reasons and getting her shoulder right. She was part of the side that won the 2018 World Cup and is a multi-skilled player that offers us another left-arm spinning option alongside Jess Jonassen.” Said National Selector Shawn Flegler

Also Read:  Preview: 3rd match: Sri Lanka vs New Zealand: Head to Head, Playing XI, Pitch Report, Injury Update, MyTeamXI Fantasy Tips

Australia’s T20 World Cup squad:

Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (VC), Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham.

Australia’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 fixtures


February 15 vs West Indies at Allan Border Field

February 18 vs South Africa at Karen Rolton Oval


February 21 vs India at Sydney Showgrounds

February 24 vs Sri Lanka at the WACA Ground

February 27 vs Bangladesh at Manuka Oval

March 2 vs New Zealand at Junction Oval

Source: ICC

Female Cricket is a digital news portal that aims to spread, share and celebrate the journey of our female cricketers around the world.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here