Reliving the Top Moments in Last Decade of Women’s Ashes (2013-2023)

Every series played has a story to dictate. Where the leaderboard constantly changes and teams go through untold excitement and agony. Be it the horrific performances or stellar acts of play, one team goes home with tears weighing heavy while the other rejoices till dawn. The ebbs and flows on the turf are what make Cricket elaborate and eccentric.

Today we shall revisit how the last decade of the Women’s Ashes has panned out. Where cricket of the highest quality was met with precision and performance.

1. 2013 (WINNER – ENGLAND)

Women's Ashes 2013 Winners - England
Women’s Ashes 2013 Winners – England

In 2013 when the Southern Stars toured the UK for the bilateral Ashes, they were greeted with sheer dominance by the English divas throughout the 3 to 4 weeks. The one-off test ended in a draw, the flat wicket of Wormsley aided batters to play aggressively. It saw hundreds from the blade of Heather Knight and Sarah Elliott.

In the One Day International battle, after having won the first game Australia went on to lose the next two. Thanks to the consistent English batting setup, which yielded runs like a well-oiled machine.

Things only got worse for Australia in the T20I’s where they were defeated 3-0. Hosts England made optimal use of familiar conditions as Australia could only manage one win in a month-long tour, helping England retain the Ashes, with Heather Knight’s fantabulous scoring abilities.

2. 2013-2014 (WINNER – ENGLAND)

Women's Ashes 2013-14 Winners - England
Women’s Ashes 2013-14 Winners – England

In the first test, England had a statement to make, and a legacy to live up to. Rightly so, they emerged victorious. Although the game saw special efforts from Aussie all-rounder Perry, who was acknowledged with the player of the match award.

In the one-day format series, hosts Australia fought back after losing the first game to go on and win the next two. Nicole Bolton’s century in the second game and Perry’s unbeaten 90 in the third, helped Australia fight back and win the ODI series.

The first game of the T20I series belonged to England for the comprehensive batting displays by skipper Edwards 92(59) and Sarah Taylor 50(37). Again the Aussies fought back with spectacular bowling performances in the last two games by Holly Ferling (2/14) and Rene Farrell (4/15) and won the T20I series.


Women's Ashes 2015 Winners - Australia
Women’s Ashes 2015 Winners – Australia

Australia emerged victorious in the one-off test at Canterbury. Jess Jonassen’s 99 (197) and Schutt’s 4-fer in the first innings, Perry’s 6-fer in the second innings ensured Australia beat hosts England comprehensively by a 161-run margin.

Also Read:  Ellyse Perry becomes first player to feature in 10 Women's Ashes series

In the ODI tussle, Australia won the series by a 2-1 margin. It took a mammoth effort from individuals and the team as a whole to end on the winning side. Lanning’s spectacular 104 (98) and Schutt’s (4-47) sealed the second game for the Aussies. Skipper Lanning played yet another marvelous innings in the 3rd game to ensure Australia bagged the one-dayers as well.

Come the T20I’s, England played like wounded lionesses to fight back. Their consistent middle order ensured the scores kept stacking up and the bowlers hit the right areas, cramping batters for the execution of shots. Anya Shrubsole was adjudged the T20 player of the series for her witty execution with the ball.

4. 2017-2018 (WINNER – AUSTRALIA)

Women's Ashes 2017 Winners - Australia
Women’s Ashes 2017 Winners – Australia

In the first test, England batted and scored a modest 280. In reply to which the Aussies belted 448 before which they declared. It consisted of a genius innings from Perry where she amassed an unbeaten 213*(374). The match had to end in a tie, for the flatness of the wicket kept the batters going.

The ODI’s saw the home team dominate 2-1. Perseverant batting efforts on the top from Alyssa Healy, Nicole Bolton, Ellyse Perry, and skipper Rachael Hayness kept the scoring rate high. And Australia’s bowling spearheads Perry and Schutt ensured the opposition’s batting was dented.

England had something to celebrate on this tour as they came back and won the T20I series after having gone 1-0 in the series. Katherine Sciver Brunt’s all-round performance of 32*(24) and (2/10), Jenny Gunn’s (4/13) set up England’s win. In the last T20I, England chased a mammoth total of 178 where Danni Wyatt smeared the bowling lineup of Australia to score 100(57) and skipper Knight played a supportive role with her 51(37).


Women's Ashes 2019 Winners - Australia
Women’s Ashes 2019 Winners – Australia

The 2019 Ashes test, once again saw both teams ending on a draw. Batting first Australia ended on a comprehensive 420/8 which they declared. Perry (116) and Haynes (87) top scored. England in their first innings faltered for just 275 where Nat Sciver top scored with (88). After which Australia batted out their second innings for 230/7 after which stumps were called on the final day. Perry was adjudged player of the match for her all-around show.

Also Read:  Breaking Boundaries Powered by Poshn in association with Female Cricket Academy

Australia then went on to win the ODI series 3-0. It took special efforts from the team to emerge victorious in foreign conditions. Delissa Kimmince’s 5-fer and Perry’s (7/22) were the best performances from the lot.

It was cherry on the cake when Australia was successful in bagging the T20I series as well, by a margin of 2-1. Lanning’s 133(63) and Mooney’s 54(33) in the first game, ensured Australia won by 93 runs. The second game’s low-scoring thriller was neutralized by Lanning’s 43 (37). Which ensured they sealed the series.

6. 2021-2022 (WINNER – AUSTRALIA)

Women's Ashes 2021-2022 Winners - Australia
Women’s Ashes 2021-2022 Winners – Australia

The one-off test in Canberra ended in a draw. It saw brilliant batting performances. Batting first Australia ended on 337/9 where they declared. Haynes (86) and Lanning (93) were the top scorers. England came all guns blazing in their 1st innings as Heather Knight amassed 168(294). Australia managed to pile up 216 in their 2nd innings, leaving England with a target of 256. Just when things were steaming up, stumps was called on day 5 with England poised at 245/9.

Australia went on to whitewash the ODI series. Mooney’s 73 (91) and Darcie Brown’s (4/34) ensured Australia cruised home in the first game. In the 2nd encounter, Perry’s (3/12) and Tahlia McGrath’s (3/4) played as match-winning spells. And the final game saw Annabel Sutherland get a 4-fer and restrict England’s scoring, which in turn made it easier for the top-class Aussie batting order.

The three-match T20I series witnessed only one game as the other two were abandoned due to rain. England batted first and posted 169 on the board for the loss of 4 wickets. Australia gave a fitting reply as they chased it down with three overs and nine wickets to spare. Thanks to Meg Lanning’s 64(44) and Tahlia McGrath’s 91(49). Australia ended up winning and retaining the Ashes.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here