South Africa Women’s Squad for New Zealand tour announced

Opening of 2020 season for South Africa women’s team is going to be contesting against New Zealand ahead of the T20 world cup in Australia.

South Africa women's cricket team
South Africa women’s cricket team. Pic Credits: ICC

Hilton Moreeng, the South Africa women’s team head coach says that his side is prepared to face challenges against new Zealand and upcoming ICC tournaments, this series consisting of 3 ODI’s and 5 T20I’s will help the girls to get into the flow for marquee tournament.

Moreeng says- “We have had a good break thus far and all of us are relishing the prospect of facing New Zealand on their home conditions, This tour offers us a great opportunity to garner much-needed points for the ICC Women’s Championship, but also great preparations for the ICC T20 World Cup. Both the ODI and T20 series will be challenging against a very strong New Zealand outfit. However, we need that challenge as it will help us measure our gameness for the all-important T20 spectacle in Australia. This team has come far and we are at a point where we are ready to be counted amongst the elite.”

Moreeng said that his team is focussing on maintaining consistency in all the formats, South Africa team is ranked No.5 in ICC Women’s ODI Rankings, and No.6 in the T20I rankings, “We are looking to have a consistent group,” said Moreeng.

“There’s no doubt about that and I know we as the management team are obviously absorbed to pick a consistent team because our squad is starting to perform at a level that we want, so it makes our job that much more difficult and that is what you want when you’re heading into a tour of this magnitude. The players have realized the importance of coming to the party and this will go a long way in ensuring that we rise on the rankings with good performances against quality opposition.”

Also Read:  Sophie Devine speaks about her Batting Order and Captaincy

The series will commence later this month from 25th January. 3 ODI’s will be played at the Eden Park Outer Oval, while the T20I’s will commence from 2nd February at the Bay Oval.

ODI squad is as follows:

Dane Van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Mignon Du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Sune Luus, Chloe Tryon, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Tumi Sekhukhune , Trisha Chetty, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Nadine De Klerk, Nondumiso Shangase.

ODI schedule:

25th Jan 2020 – New Zealand Women South Africa Women. Eden Park Outer Oval, Auckland

27th Jan 2020- New Zealand Women South Africa Women. Eden Park Outer Oval, Auckland

30th Jan 2020- New Zealand Women South Africa Women. Seddon Park, Hamilton

Source: ICC

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here