Statistical analysis of Senior Women’s T20 Challengers 2020 | Most Runs, Wickets, 4s, 6s, Strike Rate

After the sun rose in the chilling year, the women made a return to the field. Although this return was not in blue, the girls were out to take part in the much-anticipated Women’s Senior T20 challengers’ trophy.


Senior Women's T20 Challenger Trophy 2020
Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy 2020

The tournament was held in Cuttack where cricket fans had a feast in the Barabati stadium. Top Indian players from all regions of the country were divided into three teams namely India A, India B and India C. From its start on 4th January, the tournament had a relevant buzz wrapped around all the matches. Players like Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana brought the eyes of fans to the grounds.

However, like any other successful tournament, this conquest was not only about the known and established names. New faces and new names came and showed their resilience to capture the stage. India A was led by the Indian all-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur. The side had the likes of Priya Puniya for batting with magical Spinner Radha tossing her spinners. Behind the wickets was Taniya Bhatia.

Priya Puniya was impressive with her bat and scored the second-highest runs in the tournament. Radha, on the other hand, took 5 wickets in 3 matches. The team, however, had an unfortunate start with the first match abandoned with the wet outfield. The first encounter for Team A had Team C standing against them. A low scoring match saw the best of all-round performance from Deepti Sharma. The match went down and eventually went to India C with a small margin of mere 10 runs.

With no time to rest, the team faced India B in their next faceoff. With 140 to chase, the batsman failed by 35 runs. However, Deepti Sharma came handy with the bat again. With two consecutive losses, the team faced India C on the 9th. With a blistering 60 odd knock, Priya had her team jumping in hopes only to see the match slip by 2 runs. India B and India C were the finalists.

Also Read:  Summary: Match 9 - India clinches a 4-run thriller against New Zealand to book semi-final berth

India C saw the birth and heroics of Shafali with the bat. Arundhati Reddy and Rajeshwari Gayakwad were amongst the top performers with the ball. Both teams remained undefeated against India A. Nevertheless, they had faced each other thrice and the pundits had pointed towards India B in the finals with the two wins against India C in the early stages.

Players like Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav facing Veda Krishnamurthy and Arundhati Reddy meant a tight contest. One of the matches went to the gap of 4 runs. The excitement for the finals was in the skies. Shafali Verma was in the news throughout the tournament and was the center of the tournament. She was the highest scorer in the tournament adding 189 to her tally. Rajeshwari Gayakawad was the top wicket-taker with 8 batters surrendering to her.

10th saw the finals with India B and India C facing each other. The 15-year-old star Shafali got the cameras to her with a fast 89 off 48 balls. India C rode on her bravery and lifted the trophy. The Challengers Trophy was unlike any other tournament for the ladies. Not only it gifted a new platform to the less attended domestic circuit of women’s cricket, but it gave them new faces for the future. New names have made their places in streets and it would be no miracle to see people chattering about the ladies.

Also Read:  Summary: Match 2 - India B's Richa Ghosh and Sushree Dibyadarshini help beat India C by 4 Runs

To roundup, here are some stats from the Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy 2020

1. Most Runs

Player Name Runs Scored (Innings)
Shafali Verma 189 (5)
Priya Punia 119 (3)
Pooja Vastrakar 99 (4)
Richa Ghosh 98 (4)

2. Most Wickets

Player Name Wickets (Innings)
Rajeshwari Gayakwad 8 (5)
Sushree Dibyadarshini 7 (4)
Arundhati Reddy 6 (5)
Radha Yadav 5 (3)

3. Most 4s

Player Name 4s (Innings)
Shafali Verma 31 (5)
Priya Punia 16 (3)
Richa Ghosh 13 (4)
Veda Krishnamurthy 13 (5)

4. Most 6s

Player Name 6s (Innings)
Shafali Verma 5 (5)
Pooja Vastrakar 4 (4)
Shikha Pandey 2 (3)
Vanitha VR 2 (4)

5. Highest Strike-Rate

Player Name SR (Innings)
Shafali Verma 156.19 (5)
Pooja Vastrakar 154.68 (4)
Smriti Mandhana 136.73 (4)
Veda Krishnamurthy 135.38 (5)

Stats Source: BCCI

Shubham Kumar

A student who enjoys studying cricket more than anything else, keen to learn the insights of the women’s game.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here