Fixtures for Division One of next year’s Vitality Women’s County T20 released

Fixtures for Division One of next year’s Vitality Women’s County T20 released

The fixtures for Division One of next year’s Vitality Women’s County T20 has been released. The women’s domestic schedule was changed in 2020 due to the inclusion of The Hundred and a 50-over regional tournament.

Vitality Women’s County T20
Vitality Women’s County T20

In the first week of the tournament, Bears women’s team will travel to Wales to play against Surrey and Cricket Wales. The Bears are the defending champions of the cup and will be looking forward to retaining the trophy next season.

In June, the club won their first domestic women’s trophy when the Bears were announced as the champions of Vitality Women’s County T20. Following the win, 9 players of the squad bagged Kia Super League contracts, the most for any county team. Also, the under 17 girls’ team of the Bears was declared as the ECB national champion.

As reported by, Women’s & Girls’ Performance Manager Laura MacLeod said that there was always excitement in the squad when new fixtures were announced.

“Whilst we have a reduced programme of fixtures in 2020, the new structure presents a fantastic opportunity for many of our players to develop as professionals. Our eight county T20 games could well lead to selection for our players in The Hundred and for the West Midlands in the regional tournament,” she said.

MacLeod also applauded the way the Bears finished their last season. “Winning our first trophy was an incredible way to finish the 2019 domestic programme. But with a relatively young squad and more players coming through the pathway, we have a fantastic opportunity to build on this,” she said to Warwickshire.

Also Read:  Katherine Brunt and Natalie Sciver reveals their Wedding and Cricket Plan

The Bears programme will have 8 matches spanning over 4 weekends-

Friday 8 May – Surrey and Cricket Wales
Hosted by Cricket Wales

Monday 25 May – Durham and Hampshire
Home fixtures played at Shrewsbury School

Sunday 7 June – Somerset and Kent
Hosted by Kent

Sunday 21 June – Sussex and Lancashire
Hosted by Lancashire

Bears Women’s Second XI will also merge with Shropshire to play in Division Three of the Vitality Women’s County T20. These matches will be played as follows-

Friday 8 May – Derbyshire and Cumbria
Hosted by Cheshire

Monday 25 May – Cheshire and Derbyshire
Hosted by Shropshire

Sunday 7 June – Cumbria and Cheshire
Hosted by Cumbria

Sunday 21 June – Playoffs
Hosted by Derbyshire

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here