All you need to know about ICC’s first ever Women’s Future Tours Programme?

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on the 16th of August announced the first-ever Women’s Future Tours Programme (FTP). All sorts of series and tournaments on the line in the cycle spanning 2022-25 are confirmed for 10 teams. The release sees a total of 301 matches on schedule which see 7 Test matches, 135 One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and 159 Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).


Indian Women's Domestic Cricket Calendar for 2022-23 season Announced
Indian Women’s Domestic Cricket Calendar for 2022-23 season Announced


ICC’s release read, “A result of a joint effort from Members, the FTP ensures more matches for teams with the enhancement of the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) to a 10-team event. With teams featuring in more matches across formats in bilateral series, over 300 matches will be played as part of the 2022-25 FTP.”


Australia India South Africa Pakistan West Indies England New Zealand Bangladesh Ireland
Bangladesh India Australia Pakistan Ireland New Zealand South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies
England India Australia Pakistan Sri Lanka New Zealand South Africa Ireland West Indies
India New Zealand South Africa Ireland West Indies England Australia Bangladesh Sri Lanka
Ireland England Australia South Africa Sri Lanka India Bangladesh Pakistan West Indies
New Zealand England Australia Bangladesh Pakistan India South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies
Pakistan South Africa Ireland Sri Lanka West Indies England New Zealand Australia Bangladesh
South Africa England New Zealand Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Australia Pakistan Ireland
Sri Lanka India New Zealand Bangladesh West Indies England South Africa Pakistan Ireland
West Indies England New Zealand Bangladesh Ireland India Australia Pakistan Sri Lanka

ICC General Manager, Wasim Khan, said, “This is a huge moment for the women’s game. This FTP not only lends certainty to future cricket tours but also sets the base for a structure that is sure to grow in the coming years. The ICC Women’s Championship, which underpins the FTP, is instrumental in propelling the game to the next level and the competitive matches that we saw in this year’s World Cup in New Zealand were a result of the greater number of matches that women have got to play because of the IWC.”

A few highlights from the release are, the two multi-format Ashes series during the period consisting of a Test, three ODIs and three T20Is each, one in England in June 2023 and the other in Australia in January 2025. The majority of the ODI games in the period will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship, which provides direct qualification to the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025 in India.

Also Read:  Smriti Mandhana celebrates her 24th Birthday

All teams are scheduled to play three-match bilateral ODI series which is a part of the 2022-25 ICC Women’s Championships and it’ll conclude before the next women’s 50-over World Cup in India in 2025. Few teams have also got as many as 5 T20I’s on schedule to focus on the upcoming couple of World Cups that’ll both be played in the T20 format, deducting ODI series. The bilateral T20I matches will count towards respective team rankings, which will help teams confirm their berth for the ICC global events without undergoing the qualification round.

Another highlight of the release was the upcoming ICC events, South Africa in February 2023, will be hosting the Women’s T20 World Cup and in September / October of 2024, Bangladesh are set to host the Women’s T20 World Cup. The count of Test matches seeing a little jump was the final highlight, but a lot more quick work is expected as nations like West Indies and New Zealand still continue to miss out on Test matches.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here