Netherlands gears up for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 Qualifier in Abu Dhabi

The Netherlands women’s team led by skipper Heather Siegers, gears up for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Abu Dhabi.

Netherlands Women's Cricket Team
Netherlands Women’s Cricket Team

It’s time to fasten your seatbelts as the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, which is all set to be hosted by Bangladesh, is just a few months away. A total of ten teams will be participating in the T20I World Cup later this year in Bangladesh, out of which eight teams, namely, India, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, West Indies, and Pakistan have already earned an automatic qualification to the ICC Women’s T20I World Cup later this year, in Bangladesh.

The battle intensifies as two more spots are up for grabs which will be decided after the conclusion of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Abu Dhabi. The tournament will get underway from 19th April to 7th May 2024. A total of 10 countries, namely Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Uganda, United States, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu, and Zimbabwe will be participating in the Global Qualifier. The two finalists of the tournament will book their flight for the mega ICC event in Bangladesh later this year.

The Netherlands and Scotland qualified for the Global Qualifiers in Abu Dhabi courtesy of their top two finish in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup European Qualifier in September 2023.

The Netherlands women have announced their squad for the Global Qualifier in April-May 2024, in Abu Dhabi.

Netherlands Women’s Squad

Heather Siegers ©, Babette de Leede, Carlijn van Koolwijk, Caroline de Lange, Eva Lynch, Frédérique Overdijk, Hannah Landheer, Iris Zwilling, Jolien van Vliet, Merel Dekeling, Phebe Molkenboer, Robine Rijke, Sanya Khurana, Silver Siegers, and Sterre Kalis.

Also Read:  Match 3: Fairbreak XI v Netherlands Women | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI

The squad will be led by skipper Heather Siegers and coached by Neil MacRae. They have also named four reserve players, namely, Myrthe van den Raad, (travelling), Annemijn Thomson, Isabel van der Woning, and Mikkie Zwilling for the upcoming tournament.

The Netherlands will play against Vanuatu on 27th April 2024, against the United Arab Emirates on 29th April 2024, Zimbabwe on 1st May 2024, and against Ireland on 3rd May 2024.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here