South Africa appoints Laura Wolvaardt as an all-format captain

The South African women’s team was last involved in a limited-overs series when they hosted New Zealand for a three-match ODI series followed by a three-match T20I series. South Africa clinched the ODI series by (2-1) margin. The T20I series was drawn and as a result, the series was shared between both sides.

Laura Wolvaardt. PC: Twitter
Laura Wolvaardt. PC: Twitter

The South African Women’s side suffered a shocking setback when the 27-year-old all-rounder Sune Luus decided to step down as the captain of the senior South African women’s team just a few days ahead of their first-ever tour to Pakistan in September earlier this year. Sune Luus recently captained South Africa to the finals in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup at home in February earlier this year. It was a historic moment in the history of South African cricket as it was their maiden appearance in the finals of a World Cup across the senior men’s or the women’s side. Laura Wolvaardt was named as the interim captain of the side for their tour to Pakistan, followed by a home series against New Zealand.

She had a forgettable start to her captaincy stint for South Africa as they suffered a whitewash in the T20I series against Pakistan. However, they bounced back strongly by whitewashing Pakistan in the ODI series by a (3-0) margin. South Africa hosted New Zealand for a limited-overs series that included a three-match ODI series followed by a three-match T20I series. The home side sealed the ODI series by a 2-1 margin and the T20I series was shared between both these sides. Her role as the leader of the side was to be reassessed after the conclusion of their series against Pakistan and New Zealand.

Cricket South Africa, earlier in the day today, has announced the official appointment of Laura Wolvaardt as the full-time captain of the Proteas Women side for all three formats. South Africa will now be hosting Bangladesh for a limited-overs series which includes a three-match T20I series followed by a three-match ODI series. The series will commence on 3rd December 2023 and will conclude on 23rd December 2023.

Also Read:  The Benefits of Using Tether (USDT) in Online Bitcoin Casinos

South Africa have announced their squad for their upcoming series against Bangladesh.

Laura Wolvaardt ©, Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke De Ridder, Lara Goodall, Ayanda Hlubi, Sinalo Jafta, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, and Delmi Tucker.

Delmi Tucker, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, and Nonkululeko Mlaba are some of the players to watch out for in the upcoming series against Bangladesh.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here