Women’s Cricket League in Karnataka from August 4

The inaugural edition of the Women’s Cricket League (WCL) is all set to begin from August 4, 2019 in Bengaluru, Karnataka. The T20 tournament has been approved by the Karnataka State Cricket Association and will be played over five days. The league will feature four teams, namely, Narmada, Sindhu, Kaveri and Yamuna and the top two will be competing for the title on August 8 in the final. Along with young girls from the region, a number of frontline women like Veda Krishnamurthy and Rajeshwari Gayakwad will also participate.

Cricket Stadium
KSCA Stadium

Sunanda Jaiprakash, founder and Managing Director of Ocean Vibrance and the woman behind the WCL, said, “Women’s cricket is currently witnessing a phenomenal change with many initiatives aimed at improving the visibility of the game and women cricketing talent. We are of the view that there must be more platforms to promote women’s cricket in India. There is a lot more for us to achieve at the international level compared to other countries, and therefore initiatives like these are important.”

Captain of Marmada team, Rakshita, said “Tournaments such as WCL will help us to get more exposure and confidence.”

Also Read:  Ekta Bisht took 5 wickets against Pakistan Women in World Cup 2017

Liked the story? Leave a comment here