12 overseas players to participate in Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 in Pune

Women’s T20 Challenge is just around the corner as the tournament will kick start on May 23 in Pune. A total of three teams will feature in the competition across four matches and five days. The tournament will return after a hiatus of one year. This will be the fourth edition of the competition and is likely to be the last of the three-team affair. As per reports, the BCCI is planning to have a six-team Women’s IPL starting from 2023.


12 overseas players to participate in Women's T20 Challenge 2022 in Pune. PC: Getty Images
12 overseas players to participate in Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 in Pune. PC: Getty Images


With regards to this year’s Women’s T20 Challenge, the latest development was announced on May 7, when it was declared that 12 overseas players have been confirmed to participate in the tournament. Out of the 12 foreign players, there is information on nine. It is reported that four players from England, two from South Africa and West Indies each, and one from Australia are slated to participate in the tournament.

Heather Knight, Sophie Ecclestone, Sopia Dunkley and Danielle Wyatt will form a part of the England contingent. Marizanne Kapp and Laura Wolvaardt from South Africa, Deandra Dottin and Hayley Matthews from West Indies and Alana King from Australia have confirmed their availability. King will be the only representative from Australia to feature in the Women’s T20 Challenge. Most of these players are busy playing the Fairbreak Global Invitational T20 tournament in Dubai at present, an event organized in association with Cricket Hong Kong. The information on the other three foreign players is not yet out.

Also Read:  West Indies Squad for England tour Announced, Kaysia Schultz gets a call-up

Alongside the foreign players, there will be Indian internationals as well as domestic players who will be seen in the tournament. The Indian players will be picked soon. These players were last seen in the recently concluded senior women’s T20 league. There were many impressive performances right through the tournament that was played from April 15 to May 4. It will be interesting to see if the domestic talents like Kiran Navgire from Nagaland, Aarati Kedar and Maya Sonawane from Maharashtra, Sujata Mallik from Odisha, just to name a few make the cut for the Women’s T20 Challenge.

Women’s T20 Challenge will be played from May 23 to May 28 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in Pune.

Follow Female Cricket on Instagram and Twitter for all the latest news and updates

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here