Day 5: Dayalan Hemalatha, Priya Punia, Tejal Hasabnis help their teams to Victory

Day 5 of the Senior Women’s T20 tournament 2021-22 saw 18 matches being played today. Out of the 18 matches, 12 were played in the morning and six were played in the evening. In this article, we will look at the six matches that were played in the evening.


Day 5: Dayalan Hemalatha, Priya Punia, Tejal Hasabnis help their teams to Victory
Day 5: Dayalan Hemalatha, Priya Punia, Tejal Hasabnis help their teams to Victory

Pondicherry beat Manipur by 8 wickets

Pondicherry handed a crushing eight-wicket defeat to Manipur at the ACA Stadium, Barsapara. Batting first, Manipur were bowled out for 67 in 18.5 overs, thanks to Janaki, Rebecca and Abirame R who wreaked havoc with the ball picking up two wickets each. Ganga Waikhom was the top scorer for Pondicherry with 21 runs off 31 balls. In reply, Pondicherry cruised to the target in 10.4 overs. Bhakti Tamore led the run chase with a quickfire 41 off 30 balls. On the other hand, for Manipur, Milan Y was the pick of the bowlers as she struck with 2-20 in 3.4 overs.

· Manipur: 67/10 (18.5)

Ganga Waikhom: 21 (31)
Janaki: 2 Wickets
Rebecca: 2 Wickets
Abirame R: 2 Wickets

· Pondicherry: 68/2 (10.4)

Bhakti Tamore: 41 (30)
Milay Y: 2 Wickets

Result: Pondicherry Won by 8 wickets

Haryana beat Saurashtra by 8 wickets

Captain Shafali Verma led Haryana to an eight-wicket win over Saurashtra at the JSCA International Stadium Complex. Batting first, Saurashtra were restricted to 6-98 in 20 overs with M Jadeja top-scoring with 36 runs off 41 balls. On the other hand, for Haryana, Triveni Vasistha was the pick of the bowlers as she scalped 2-8 in four overs. In reply, Haryana chased down the total in 17 overs, thanks to their skipper, Shafali Verma who muscled 51 runs off 29 balls. With the ball for Saurashtra, T Dharani was the lone wicket-taker as she claimed 2-20 in four overs.

· Saurashtra: 98/6 (20)

M Jadeja: 36 (41)
Triveni Vasistha: 2 Wickets

· Haryana: 102/2 (17)

Shafali Verma: 51 (29)
T Dharani: 2 Wickets

Also Read:  What did Sachin Tendulkar tell Mithali Raj in their first meeting in 2002?

Result: Haryana Won by 8 Wickets

Maharashtra beat Meghalaya by 118 runs

Riding on Tejal Hasabnis’ 54 off 36 balls, Maharashtra piled up a daunting score of 4-187 in 20 overs against Meghalaya at the Siechem Stadium. On the other hand, for Meghalaya Debasmita Dutta was the pick of the bowlers as she bagged 4-41 in four overs. In reply, Meghalaya were bundled out for 69 in 19 overs. Rajni Lodhi top scored with 23 runs off 14 balls for Meghalaya while for Maharashtra Aarati Kedar struck with 3-10 in three overs.

· Maharashtra: 187/4 (20)

Tejal Hasabnis: 54 (36)
Debasmita Dutta: 4 Wickets

· Meghalaya: 69/10 (19)

Rajni Lodhi: 23 (14)
Aarati Kedar: 3 Wickets

Result: Maharashtra Won by 118 Runs

Goa beat Vidarbha by 7 wickets

Batting first, Vidarbha were bowled out for 104 in 19.3 overs against Goa at the IS Bindra Cricket Stadium, PCA. Vaishnavi Khandkar top scored with 44 runs off 51 balls for Vidarbha while for Goa it was Tejashwini Duragad who starred with the ball picking up 3-18 in four overs. In reply, Goa completed the formalities in 19.4 overs, thanks to captain Shikha Pandey who smashed an unbeaten 49 off 45 balls. With the ball, for Vidarbha, KR Zanzad was the lone wicket taker as she clinched 3-8 in four overs.

· Vidarbha: 104/10 (19.3)

Vaishnavi Khandkar: 44 (51)
Tejashwini Duragad: 3 Wickets

· Goa: 105/3 (19.4)

Shikha Pandey: 49* (45)
KR Zanzad: 3 Wickets

Result: Goa Won by 7 Wickets

Tamil Nadu beat Bihar by 28 runs

Tamil Nadu got the better of Bihar by 28 runs at the Greenfield Stadium. Batting first, Tamil Nadu put together 5-117 in 20 overs, thanks to Nethra L who top scored with 42 runs off 34 balls. On the other hand, for Bihar, Nivedita was the pick of the bowlers as she struck with 3-13 in four overs. In reply, Bihar scored 5-89 in 20 overs as they fell shy of 28 runs. Yashita Singh starred with the bat for Bihar as she mustered run a ball 32. With the ball, for Tamil Nadu, five out of the six bowlers used picked up one wicket apiece.

Also Read:  BCCI retains 17 Women Players for Central Contracts for 2022-23 season, Shikha Pandey misses out

· Tamil Nadu: 117/5 (20)

Nethra L: 42 (34)
Nivedita: 3 Wickets

· Bihar: 89/5 (20)

Yashita Singh: 32 (32)
Niranjana Nagarajan: 1 Wicket

KN Ramyashri: 1 Wicket

S Anusha: 1 Wicket
SB Keerthana: 1 Wicket

Rshi Choudhary: 1 Wicket

Result: Tamil Nadu Won by 28 Runs

Railways beat Delhi by 24 runs

Priya Punia’s 65 off 54 balls went in vain as Delhi lost to Railways by 24 runs at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium. Batting first, Railways posted 7-136 in 20 overs, thanks to Dayalan Hemalatha who starred with the bat scoring 69 runs off 49 balls. On the other hand for Delhi, Soni Yadav and Babita Negi chipped in with two wickets each. In reply, Delhi fought hard but fell short of 24 runs in the end. Punia led the run chase with a brilliant half-century but did not find able allies. With the ball for Railways it was Preeti Bose who wreaked havoc with 4-24 in four overs.

· Railways: 136/7 (20)

Dayalan Hemalatha: 69 (49)
Soni Yadav: 2 Wickets

Babita Negi: 2 Wickets

· Delhi: 112/9 (20)

Priya Punia: 65 (54)
Preeti Bose: 4 Wickets

Result: Railways Won by 24 Runs

Follow Female Cricket on Instagram and Twitter for all the latest news and updates

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here