Meg Lanning to lead Southern Stars in Ashes

Cricket Australia has announced the Australia Women squad which is to travel to the United Kingdom for the upcoming Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes tour. Selectors have named one squad to cover all three formats in the UK – the Ashes rivals will meet in three ODIs, one Test and three T20Is from July 2 – including five potential Test debutants, alongside the 13-strong ‘A’ group.

While opening batter Nicole Bolton and pacer Tayla Vlaeminck join the 14-member group after missing ODI series against New Zealand earlier this year, allrounder Sophie Molineux will miss out on a spot as she is recovering from a shoulder injury but she is included in Australia A squad.

National selector Shawn Flegler said, “Sophie has been doing everything she could do prove her fitness having had a shoulder reconstruction back in February, but she still needs a bit more time to make sure she’s 100 per cent so she’ll travel to England with the Australia A side.”

Australia squad

Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

Australia A squad: Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Josie Dooley, Heather Graham, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Also Read:  The Rise of Women's Cricket since 1934

Liked the story? Leave a comment here