Thailand, Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands to play a quadrangular T20I series ahead of ICC Women’s T20 WC Global qualifiers

A quadrangular T20 tournament featuring Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands and Thailand is going to be held from 8th to 14 August 2019. The four teams will play six matches in the space of seven days in the Dutch city of Deventer (Netherlands) at the Salland Cricket Club and this series will be an ideal preparation for these sides ahead of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier starting on 31 August in Scotland.

Aaron Hamilton, Head Coach of Ireland Women’s cricket team, said:

“2019 is a big year for women’s cricket in Ireland and we want to provide our squad with the best opportunity to qualify for the T20 Women’s World Cup. As such, this new tournament is timely and competitiveness of the four teams involved will definitely help with our preparations.”

Steven Knox, Head Coach of Scotland Women’s cricket team, said: “Six games in seven days will be a tough challenge and will allow us to clarify game plans and strategies that we can use in the Global Qualifier.”

Sean Trouw, Head Coach of Netherland Women’s cricket team, said:

“The series is a great opportunity for the Dutch women’s team to play more competitive cricket and for us to be playing at home is a great chance to show what women’s cricket is all about. This series will be a great opportunity to grow the game locally and hopefully inspire a few more girls to take up the game.”

Harshal J Pathak, Head Coach of Thailand Women’s cricket team, said:

“The quadrangular series is timed very well as it gives us valuable tournament matches before the World Cup Qualifiers. I am very sure that the players will benefit a lot to acclimatise, and be better prepared with their game for the World Cup Qualifier.”

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Also Read:  U-18 T20 Women’s Cricket Championship to commence from 18th Nov in Pakistan

Liked the story? Leave a comment here