All the Overseas Replacement in Women’s Big Bash League 2021?

The seventh edition of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) is less than a week away. As usual, there will be eight teams, namely, Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder, participating in the T20 league that will be played across different venues in Australia. While all the teams have almost finalized their squads, let’s look at some of the overseas players who have replaced their counterparts.


Shafali Verma and Radha Yadav to play for Sydney Sixers in WBBL07
Shafali Verma and Radha Yadav to play for Sydney Sixers in WBBL07

Adelaide Strikers Women:

Suzie Bates, the seasoned all-rounder from New Zealand has been replaced by South Africa’s captain Dane van Niekerk. The South African all-rounder had a wonderful outing in the recently concluded “The Hundred” which was played in England. She captained Oval Invincibles and led the team to victory in the inaugural tournament. The right-hand bat and right arm leg spinner has featured in 86 T20I so far, having made her international debut in 2009. She has scored 1877 runs, including 10 half-centuries, and has picked up 65 wickets, including the best of 4-17.

Suzie Bates Dane Van Niekerk

Brisbane Heat Women:

New Zealand’s all-rounder Amelia Kerr has been replaced by India’s ace leg spinner Poonam Yadav. Poonam has been a consistent performer for India over the last eight years in T20Is. She has represented India in 71 T20Is and has picked up 98 wickets, including the best of 4-9. She was also the second-highest wicket-taker in the 2020 World T20 played in Australia. She accounted for 10 wickets in five matches.

Amelia Kerr Poonam Yadav
Also Read:  1st ODI - Lizelle Lee's 91 help South Africa take a Lead in ODI Series against West Indies Women

Hobart Hurricanes Women:

South Africa’s wicket-keeper bat Lizelle Lee has been replaced by India’s upcoming wicket-keeper bat Richa Ghosh. The 17-year old has taken the world by storm, thanks to her attacking style of batting and more than handy wicket-keeping skills. She is a good middle-order bat and has the ability to finish games. So far, she has played 10 T20Is and has scored 143 runs in 8 innings at a strike rate of 114.40.

Lizelle Lee Richa Ghosh

Sydney Thunder Women:

The defending champions have three replacements in the side. The English duo of Tammy Beaumont and Heather Knight has been replaced by the Indian duo of Smriti Mandhana and Deepti Sharma. South Africa’s right arm seamer Shabnim Ismail has been replaced by England’s Isabelle Wong. While Mandhana played for Hobart Hurricanes and then for Brisbane Heat, Sharma and Wong will make their debuts this season.


Tammy Beaumont Smriti Mandhana
Heather Knight Deepti Sharma
Shabnim Ismail Issy Wong

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here