USA Women’s team confirms tour of UAE for a Historic ODI Series

The ‘United States of America (USA) Cricket’ has revealed both the schedule and squads for their forthcoming tour of the United Arab Emirates, which includes their participation in a historic One-Day International (ODI) series set to kick off as early as next month.

USA Women's Cricket team. PC: Twitter
USA Women’s Cricket team. PC: Twitter

USA will mark their return to ODI cricket since attaining ODI status in 2022, following their last appearance in 50 overs cricket at the ICC World Cup Global Qualifier in Zimbabwe in 2021, which ended abruptly due to the Covid outbreak. Their ODI series will feature a one-off match against both Papua New Guinea (PNG) and Scotland.

Notably, in 2022, the USA, Papua New Guinea, and Scotland, among others, were granted ODI status. Leading up to the ODI series, Papua New Guinea (PNG) will debut in the format against Zimbabwe, while Scotland has played 11 ODIs, winning 2 and losing 9.

ODI series schedule:

11-Apr-24 Papua New Guinea v United States of America
ICC Academy Ground
12-Apr-24 Scotland v Papua New Guinea
14-Apr-24 United States of America v Scotland

Following the ODI series, the US will compete in a Quadrangular Twenty20 International (T20I) series featuring Scotland, Netherlands, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Both series will be played in the UAE and serve as crucial preparation for the 2024 International Cricket Council (ICC) Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier scheduled for April-May in Abu Dhabi.

T20I series schedule:

United Arab Emirates vs Netherlands
Zayed Cricket Stadium
Scotland vs United States of America
United States of America vs United Arab Emirates
Zayed Cricket Stadium
Scotland v Netherlands
United States of America v Netherlands
Tolerance Oval
Scotland v United Arab Emirates
Also Read:  USA Women’s U19 team to Travel Overseas for 4 T20 Matches

The squad for the ODI and T20Is series will feature the same 15 members named for the global qualifier. Led by the experienced Sindhu Sriharsha, the squad includes three debutants Pooja Shah, Pooja Ganesh, and Saanvi Immadi, who will replace Chetna Reddy Pagydyala, Uzma Iftikhar, and Onika Wallerson from their previous lineup.

USA Squad for both series and the ICC Global Qualifier:

Sindhu Sriharsha (C), Anika Kolan (VC), Aditiba Chudasama, Disha Dhingra, Gargi Bhogle, Geetika Kodali, Isani Vaghela, Jessica Willathgamuwa, Jivana Aras, Pooja Ganesh, Pooja Shah, Ritu Singh Immadi, Sai Tanmayi Eyyunni, Suhani Thadani

On the forthcoming tour of UAE, skipper Sindhu Sriharsha, stated, “The team is excited to have the opportunity to come together and play competitive cricket prior to the ICC T20 Global World Cup Qualifier. We have a young team, with many of our players scattered around the country, thousands of miles apart and therefore it is difficult for us to train or play together on a regular basis. We look forward to being in the UAE and playing our best cricket.”

(Quote sourced from USA Cricket Media Release)

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here