Day 7: Richa Ghosh powers Bengal to Victory, Rubia Syed help Jammu and Kashmir Win

Day 7 of the Senior Women’s T20 tournament 2021-22 saw 18 matches being played today. Out of the 18 matches, 12 were played in the morning and six were played in the evening. In this article, we will look at the six matches that were played in the evening.


18-year-old Richa Ghosh eyeing her maiden Women's World Cup tournament
18-year-old Richa Ghosh eyeing her maiden Women’s World Cup tournament

Bengal beat Punjab by 43 runs at JSCA International Stadium Complex

Richa Ghosh scored 75 runs off 52 balls to help Bengal post 4-173 in 20 overs. In reply, Punjab were bowled out for 130 in 14.5 overs, thanks to Jhumia Khatun who wreaked havoc with the ball picking up 4-25 in 3.5 overs. With the ball for Punjab, Neelam Bisht was the pick of the bowlers as she scalped 2-29 in four overs while with the bat it was Ridhima Aggarwal who top scored with 37 runs off 17 balls.

· Bengal: 173/4 (20)

Richa Ghosh: 75 (52)

Neelam Bisht: 2-29 (4)

· Punjab: 130/10 (14.5)

Ridhima Aggarwal: 37 (17)

Jhumia Khatun: 4-25 (3.5)

Result: Bengal won by 43 Runs

J&K beat Arunachal Pradesh by 36 runs at ACA Stadium, Barsapara

Riding on Rubia Syed’s 57 off 41 balls, J&K put together 3-136 in 20 overs against Arunachal Pradesh. With the ball, Nabam Yapu, Runa and B Ritu struck with one wicket each for Arunachal Pradesh. In reply, Arunachal Pradesh were restricted to 9-100 in 20 overs, thanks to Nadia Chowdhary who wreaked havoc with the ball picking up 3-17 in four overs. With the bat for Arunachal Pradesh, Megha Sharma top scored with 36 not out off 39 balls.

· J&K: 136/3 (20)

Rubia Syed: 57 (41)

Nabam Yapu: 1-22 (4)

Runa: 1-15 (4)

B Ritu: 1-15 (2)

· Arunachal Pradesh: 100/9 (20)

Also Read:  Day 2: Kiran Navgire's unbeaten 81 guides Nagaland to 8 Wicket Victory against Manipur

Megha Sharma: 36* (39)

Nadia Chowdhary: 3-17 (4)

Result: J&K won by 36 Runs

Uttar Pradesh beat Uttarakhand by 108 runs at IS Bindra Cricket Stadium, PCA

Uttar Pradesh handed a crushing 108 run defeat to Uttarakhand after scoring 3-152 in 20 overs. Muskan Malik starred with the bat scoring 57 runs off 48 balls while for Uttarakhand Radha Chand, Anjali Kathait and Prema chipped in with one wicket each. In reply, Uttarakhand were bundled out for 44 in 15.5 overs, thanks to Kshama Singh who bagged 3-12 in four overs. With the bat for Uttarakhand Raghvi top scored with a 15-ball 18.

· Uttar Pradesh: 152/3 (20)

Muskan Malik: 57 (48)

Radha Chand: 1-39 (4)

Anjali Kathait: 1-19 (2)

Prema: 1-27 (4)

· Uttarakhand: 44/10 (15.5)

Raghvi: 18 (15)

Kshama Singh: 3-12 (4)

Result: Uttar Pradesh beat Uttarakhand by 108 runs

Himachal Pradesh beat Chandigarh by 7 wickets at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium

In a relatively low scoring encounter, Himachal Pradesh beat Chandigarh by seven wickets as they chased down 105 in 14.2 overs. Batting first, Chandigarh posted 7-104 in 20 overs, riding on Monika Pandey’s 32 off 37 balls. On the other hand, for Himachal Pradesh, Sushmita Kumari and NM Chauhan chipped in with two wickets each. In reply, Nikita Chauhan led the run chase with an unbeaten 52 off 35 balls while for Chandigarh Rajni Devi was the pick of the bowlers as she scalped 2-21 in four overs.

· Chandigarh: 104/7 (20)

Monika Pandey: 32 (37)

Sushmita Kumari: 2-20 (4)

NM Chauhan: 2-13 (4)

· Himachal Pradesh: 105/3 (14.2)

Nikita Chauhan: 52* (35)

Rajni Devi: 2-21 (4)

Result: Himachal Pradesh won by 7 Wickets

Tripura beat Chhattisgarh by 3 wickets at Greenfield Stadium

Batting first, Chhattisgarh put together 6-92 in 20 overs, with Shivi Pandey top scoring with 38 runs off 53 balls. With the ball for Tripura, NN Debnath struck with 3-18 in four overs. In reply, Tripura completed the formalities in 19.5 overs. JR Debnath top scored with a 34-ball 30 while for Chhattisgarh Urmila Harina accounted for 3-17 in four overs.

Also Read:  Day 4: Yastika Bhatia, Radha Yadav, Chandu V, Sujata Mallik emerged Top Performers

· Chhattisgarh: 92/6 (20)

Shivi Pandey: 38 (53)

NN Debnath: 3-18 (4)

· Tripura: 96/7 (19.5)

JR Debnath: 30 (34)

Urmila Harina: 3-17 (4)

Result: Tripura won by 3 Wickets

Kerala beat Hyderabad by 8 wickets at Siechem Stadium

Kerala qualified for the knock outs as they beat Hyderabad by eight wickets. Batting first, Hyderabad piled up 5-99 in 20 overs. Keerthi Reddy top scored with 28 runs off 39 balls for Hyderabad while for Kerala it was Keerthy James who starred with the ball picking up 2-11 in four overs. In reply, Kerala chased down the total in 17.1 overs, thanks to Jincy George who top scored with 36 runs off 37 balls. On the other hand, for Hyderabad, G Trisha and Bhogi Shravani claimed one wicket each.

· Hyderabad: 99/5 (20)

Keerthi Reddy: 28 (39)

Keerthy James: 2-11 (4)

· Kerala: 103/2 (17.1)

Jincy George: 36 (37)

G Trisha: 1-13 (3)

Bhogi Shravani: 1-20 (3.1)

Result: Kerala won by 8 Wickets

Follow Female Cricket on Instagram and Twitter for all the latest news and updates

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here