Sri Lanka and West Indies Squad Announced for Quadrangular Women’s U19 T20 Series

The inaugural edition of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Under-19 Women’s Twenty20 World Cup t that’s scheduled to run early next year in South Africa from the 14th to the 29th of January is now just around the corner and a majority of participating teams for the same have their preparations going on in full swing.

17-year-old, Vishmi Gunaratne, given the honour of leading the side Sri Lanka in the Quadrangular Series. PC: Sri Lanka Cricket
17-year-old, Vishmi Gunaratne, was given the honour of leading the side Sri Lanka in the Quadrangular Series. PC: Sri Lanka Cricket


The tournament has a total of 16 teams of which 12 who’ve gained direct qualifications are; Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa (hosts), Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe and the United States.

The remaining 4 teams, United Arab Emirates (UAE) following a win in the 6-team Asia qualifier, Indonesia with a series win in the bilateral East Asia Pacific (EAP) qualifier, Scotland with a series win in the bilateral Europe qualifier and Rwanda following a 9-team tournament win in Africa qualifier, have earned themselves a spot in the 16.

Cricket West Indies (CWI) in their lead-up to the mega ICC event announced a 23-player squad that underwent a training camp that was followed by a few trial matches in Trinidad early this month. CWI has announced a squad of 15 from the 23-player pre-series camp for the sides Quadrangular series scheduled against Sri Lanka and two Indian sides, A and B.

West Indies squad for Quadrangular Women’s U19 T20 Series

Ashmini Munisar (C), Trishan Holder (VC), Asabi Callendar, Kenikaa Cassar, Jahzara Claxton, Naijanni Cumberbatch, Jannillea Glasgow, Realeanna Grimmond, Zaida James, Djenaba Joseph, KD Jazz Mitchell, Shalini Samaroo, Shunelle Sawh, Lena Scott, Kate Wilmott

Sri Lanka too for the Quadrangular series has announced their squad of 15 which sees Sri Lanka’s senior women’s team opener, 17-year-old, Vishmi Gunaratne, given the honour of leading the side.

Also Read:  Match 3: U19 West Indies v U19 Sri Lanka | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI 

Sri Lanka Squad for Quadrangular Women’s U19 T20 Series

Vishmi Gunaratne(C), Sanjana Kavindi, U Rathnayake, Rashmi Nethranjali, Rashmika Sewwandi, D Vihanga, Manudi Nanayakkara, S Nisansala, Pamoda Shaini, V Perera, Dulanga Dissanayake, R Sanjana, Nethmi Senarathne, Harini Perera, Vihara Sewwandi

India A Squad for Quadrangular Women’s U19 T20 Series

Shweta Sehrawat (C), Soumya Tiwari (VC), Roshini Kiran, Shikha Shalot, Sonia Mendhiya, Hurley Gala, Archana Devi, Hrishita Basu (WK), Mahek Pokar (WK), Sonam Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Bidisha Dey, Yashasri, Jintimani Kalita

Standby – Khushbu Kumari, Aishwarya Singh, Vaishnavi Sharma

India B Squad for Quadrangular Women’s U19 T20 Series

Niki Prasad (C), Najla CMC (VC), Ishwari Savkar, Rama Kushwah, G Trisha, Bristi Maji, Chandasi K, Soumya Verma (WK), Nandini Kashyap (WK), Mannat Kashyap, Parunika Sisodia, Falak Naz, Shabnam, Vasuvi Fishta, Mithila Vinod

Standby – Garima Singh, Raghvi Bist, Nirmiti Rane

Both sides, West Indies and Sri Lanka will clash the in-form India A and B sides who’ve undergone a set of domestic tournaments in the lead-up to the Quadrangular series and India’s squads for the same were announced a few days back.

Schedule of Quadrangular Women’s U19 T20 Series

India A vs West Indies
India B vs Sri Lanka
West Indies vs Sri Lanka
India A vs India B
India A vs Sri Lanka
India B vs West Indies
19-Nov-2022 Finals

The historic, first-ever edition of the ICC Women’s U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup is to be played early next year at Benoni and Potchefstroom in South Africa early and the schedule revealed by the ICC sees teams playing as many as 41 matches across 15 days.

Also Read:  Women’s CPL 2022: Full Squad, Schedule, Rules, Prize Money, Live Streaming, Timing

The 16 teams constituting 11 full ICC members and 5 associate teams have been split into four groups. The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six League stage, where teams from Group A will play against Group D and Group B will compete against Group C.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here