Zimbabwe Women to host Ireland for a Historic 4-Match ODI Series at Harare Sports Club

The Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket team is all set to host the Irish Women’s Cricket team for an ODI series. The series commenced on October 5 and the rest of the ODIs are scheduled on October, 7, 9, and 11. All 4 matches will take place at the Harare Sports Club.


Ireland Women tour of Zimbabwe 2021. PC: IrishWomensCric/Twitter
Ireland Women tour of Zimbabwe 2021. PC: IrishWomensCric/Twitter


The Zimbabwe Women will play their first ODI after receiving the ODI status from ICC this year in April 2021. Meanwhile, Ireland last played an ODI against New Zealand in 2018. Hence, this series will be quite important for both teams to polish their ODI performance.

Zimbabwe has shown good progress this year. They won this year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Region Qualifier after defeating Namibia in the finals. Additionally, the Zimbabwe team won the tournament without losing a single match which is very impressive. They are hoping to continue this momentum in this series against Ireland.

Ireland too displayed a good performance at the 2021 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup European Region Qualifier. The Irish women placed second in the tournament and progressed to the next Qualifier round. They displayed a good batting performance in the tournament and will be eager to play against Zimbabwe in the ODI series.

The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier has been scheduled in November in Zimbabwe. The tournament will be played in the ODI format. Hence, this series will be beneficial for both teams to brush up on their ODI skills and Ireland as well will get a taste of the Zimbabwe climate.

The Zimbabwe squad to play this series has been announced on Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket Twitter, “Zimbabwe team to play Ireland in the ODI series. Matches are scheduled for 5, 7, 9, and 11 October at Harare Sports Club.”

Also Read:  Semi-Final 1: Namibia vs Zimbabwe | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live Streaming | Pitch Report

Zimbabwe Women’s squad:

Mary Anne Musonda (captain), Audrey Mazvishaya, Chiedza Dhururu, Pelagia Mujaji, Nyasha Gwanzura, Esther Mbofana, Josephine Nkomo, Loreen Tshuma, Loryn Phiri, Ashley Ndiraya, Modester Mupachikwa, Nomvelo Sibanda, Precious Marange, Tasmeen Granger and Francesca Chipare.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here