Gaby Lewis Fifty guides Ireland to a 10-Wicket Win over Zimbabwe

The Zimbabwe Women’s led by skipper Mary-Anne Musonda are hosting Ireland led by skipper Laura Delany and her deputy Gaby Lewis for a white-ball series that includes a three-match ODI series followed by a five-match T20I series. The series got underway on 18th January and will conclude on 2nd February 2024.

Spinner's power Ireland to a thumping victory over Zimbabwe. PC: Getty
Spinner’s power Ireland to a thumping victory over Zimbabwe. PC: Getty


The Ireland skipper Laura Delany won the toss and opted to field first in the 1st ODI at the Harare Sports Club. Kudzai Chigora and Michelle Mavunga were a couple of debutants for Zimbabwe. After the visiting team inserted them to bat first, the home side experienced a poor start as they lost their skipper Mary-Anne Musonda cheaply. Ava Canning provided a massive breakthrough for Ireland. Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano joined wicket-keeper batter Chiedza Dhururu at the crease and the duo stitched a crucial 35-run partnership for the 2nd wicket before Arlene Kelly picked up the wicket of Chiedza Dhururu to provide the 2nd breakthrough for Ireland.

Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano soon followed her back to the pavilion as the visitors clawed their way back into the contest. Kelis Ndhlovu joined Ashley Ndiraya at the crease and the duo stitched another crucial 43-run partnership for the 4th wicket before skipper Laura Delany picked up the wicket of Kelis Ndhlovu to provide the 4th breakthrough for her side. Zimbabwe kept losing wickets at regular intervals and as a result, the home side were eventually bundled out for 170 with just over 7 overs to spare.

The 25-run 8th wicket partnership between Nomvelo Sibanda and Precious Marange played a crucial role in helping the home side breach the 150-run mark. Ashley Ndiraya (47 off 53 balls), Precious Marange (29 off 37 balls), and Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano (22 off 41 balls) were the top performers with the bat for Zimbabwe. Ava Canning (2/19), Freya Sargent (3/29), and Cara Murray (3/32) were the top performers with the ball for Ireland.

Also Read:  2nd ODI between Ireland and Zimbabwe Women ends in a tie

The rains arrived and the game was eventually reduced to 21 overs with a revised target of 110. The Ireland openers came out with a positive mindset and smashed the Zimbabwean bowlers all over the park with a run rate of over 8 runs an over. The duo stayed unbeaten right till the end and took the visitors, Ireland over the line to seal a thumping 10-wicket victory over Zimbabwe with more than 47 balls to spare in a rain-curtailed encounter. Gaby Lewis (65 off 41 balls) scored at an impressive strike rate of 158.53 and wicket-keeper batter Amy Hunter (36 off 39 balls) were the top performers with the bat for Ireland.

Gaby Lewis, the opening batter, earned the Player of the Match award for her outstanding batting performance, scoring 65 off 41 balls. This recognition came after the trio of bowlers Ava Canning, Freya Sargent, and Cara Murray successfully restricted the home side to under 200. Ireland take a 1-0 lead in the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here