1st ODI: India v Sri Lanka | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming

The first ODI of the three-match series between India and Sri Lanka will be played on July 1 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele in Sri Lanka. This ODI series will form a part of the ICC Women’s Championship cycle of 2022-25.


1st ODI: India v Sri Lanka | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming
1st ODI: India v Sri Lanka | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming


Prior to the ODI series, the two teams locked horns against each other in a three-match T20I series that was played from June 23 to June 27 at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla. The visitors won the series 2-1.


India and Sri Lanka have played 29 ODIs against each other, out of which India have won 26, Sri Lanka have won two and one match did not produce a result.


India: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), S Meghana, Deepti Sharma, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Simran Bahadur, Richa Ghosh (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Harleen Deol

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (Captain), Hasini Perera, Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeevani, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Achini Kulasuriya, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhani, Rashmi de Silva, Hansima Karunaratne, Kaushani Nuthyangana, Sathya Sandeepani, Tharika Sewwandi

Players to watch

Harmanpreet Kaur: 

The captain of India had a good run in the recently concluded T20I series against Sri Lanka. She won the player of the series for her all-round contributions. She scored 92 runs in three matches and accounted for one wicket. Apart from her all-round abilities, she will be required to lead the team from the front with her smart captainship moves.

Also Read:  Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Smriti Mandhana: 

The left-handed opening batter is an experienced cricketer with 71 ODIs to her name. She has mustered 2788 runs, including 22 half-centuries and five centuries. She averages a healthy 37 against Sri Lanka and has five half-centuries in 10 matches against them.

Chamari Athapaththu:

The captain of Sri Lanka won the player of the match in the third and final T20I against India on June 27. The left-handed opening batter is a prolific cricketer with 2767 runs in 87 ODIs, including 14 half-centuries and six centuries. Apart from her batting, she is more than a handy off spinner and has 25 wickets in 41 ODI innings to her name.

Inoka Ranaweera: 

The left arm spinner from Sri Lanka was the leading wicket-taker in the recently concluded three-match T20I series against India. She picked up six wickets and bowled her full quota of four overs in all the three matches. Apart from this, she has 64 wickets in 62 ODIs, including one four-wicket haul.


This will be the first women’s ODI that will be played at this venue. Prior to this, Pallekele has hosted 25 men’s ODIs. The highest score at this venue is 363 and the lowest score is 70. The teams batting first and the teams batting second have won an equal number of matches, which is 12 with one match being abandoned. Being the first match of the series, expect a fresh wicket, which will favour the batters. However, the cloudy condition may assist the fast bowlers, especially in the first hour of the play.

Also Read:  Summary: 2nd T20I – Deepti Sharma and Shafali Verma hand India second victory in the series against West Indies


The weather is expected to be mostly cloudy with a thunderstorm. The temperature can go up to 29 degrees Celsius. As per the forecast, there is 80 percent chance of rain and 85 percent cloud cover. The wind will blow from the west.

Fantasy Playing XI

Anushka Sanjeewani, Nilakshi de Silva, Vishmi Rajapaksha, Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Chamari Athapaththu, Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Inoka Ranaweera, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Match details

Date: July 1, 2022

Time: 10AM IST

Venue: Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele, Sri Lanka

Live streaming: Fancode

Follow Female Cricket on Instagram and Twitter for all the latest news and updates

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here