Bengal win over Vidarbha to qualify for the semifinals of Senior Women’s T20 Trophy

Super League Round V: Bengal win over Vidarbha to qualify for the semifinals of Senior Women’s T20 Trophy

Bengal won over Vidarbha by 7 runs to qualify for the semifinals of the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy of this year. Bengal who batted first set down a target that Vidarbha could not chase in the second innings.

Bengal State Women's Cricket Team
Bengal State Senior Women’s Cricket Team

Match 136: Vidarbha vs Bengal

Venue: Devineni Venkata Ramana Praneetha Ground, Mulapadu

Bengal won the toss and chose to bat first in their 5th round match of the Super League. The first wicket fell in the first over itself as Gayatri Mal was rendered lbw by Komal Zanzad on a duck. The other opener Mita Paul fell on 23(36) as she became the first victim of Vaishnavi Khandkar. Khandkar took 2 more wickets, dismissing the settled Mandira Mahapatra on 25(33) and captain Prativa Rana on 3(5). Richa Ghosh made 13 while Jhumia Khatun remained not out on 17 to take Bengal’s total to 108/8.

Vidarbha had a similar start as the earlier triple wicket-taker Vaishnavi Khandkar was run-out in the second ball only. Major contributions came from Disha Kasat who stayed till the 14th over as she made 39 off 46 balls. Shivani Dharne made 12 while Nupur Kohale, Komal Zanzad, and Sayali Kamone made 11 runs each. Vidarbha failed to reach the target score and were all-out in the last over of the innings. Shrayosi Aich of Bengal scalped 3 wickets.

Bengal innings: 108/8 in 20 overs

Vidarbha innings: 101 all-out in 20 overs

Result: Bengal won by 7 runs

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Group B: Round III - Haryana, Vidarbha and Rajasthan bag wins over Sikkim, Jammu and Kashmir and Odisha

Liked the story? Leave a comment here