Group D: Round V – Manipur, Chhattisgarh and Uttarakhand succumb to Kerala, Himachal and Punjab – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019

Group D: Round V – Manipur, Chhattisgarh and Uttarakhand succumb to Kerala, Himachal, and Punjab in the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019.

Date: 20 October 2019

Match 1: Kerala vs Manipur

Venue: Ravenshaw University Ground, Cuttack

Kerala women batted first in the 73rd T20 of the tournament. The batters had a very good outing on the field. Opener Shani T Sasidharan played a splendid knock of 43 runs off 34 balls. Jincy Kutty’s brilliant form with the bat continued. She hit a magnificent ton, the second of the tournament. She smashed 108 runs off just 67 balls with a strike rate of over 161. After she was run out, captain Sajana S made a quick fire 30 off 21 to take her team to 199/3 at the end of 20 overs.

Chasing a mammoth score of 200, the Manipur women were never near the required run rate. Opener Chingkheileima Mangsatabam made 13 off 20 while captain Ganga Waikhom remained unbeaten on 24 off 36. Ningthoujam Devi scored 11 in 9 balls. In the end, Manipur could only score 30% of Kerala’s runs – they made 59 runs and lost 5 wickets.

Result: Kerala won by 140 runs.

Match 2: Chhattisgarh vs Himachal

Venue: Ravenshaw University Ground, Cuttack

The match was reduced to a 15-overs per side game. Chhattisgarh batted first with openers Shivi Pandey scoring 10 in 13 balls and Shilpa Sahu making 8 off 32. Yashi Pandey top-scored for her side with a knock of 20 off 28. Wicket-keeper Shivani Krishna also made an unbeaten 11 in 10 balls. Chhattisgarh finished on 56/7 after 15 overs.

Also Read:  A heartfelt letter from a fan to Indian Women's Cricket Team ahead of World Cup Finals

From Himachal, captain Nikita Chauhan made 18 off 12 balls. Opener Harleen Deol failed to make an impact as she departed after scoring only 4 runs. Neena Chaudhary 14(24) and captain Sushma Verma 17(16) had a good partnership. Chhattisgarh’s Urmila Harina took 3 wickets in her 3 over spell. Himachal chased the target in 11.1 overs.

Result: Himachal won by 6 wickets (VJD Method)

Match 3: Punjab vs Cricket Association of Uttarakhand

Venue: RDCA Ground, Raipur

The Punjab vs Uttarakhand game was a reduced match which had 17-overs per side. Punjab batted first. Priyanka Malik scored the most runs for her team. She made 48 runs in 38 balls. Babita Meena 27(24) and Neelam Bisht 21(12) also had significant contributions. Punjab made 126 runs in 17 overs losing 4 wickets.

Uttrakhand started its batting with opener Sunita Madhwal scoring 19 runs in 38 balls. Raghvi Bist also scored 18 runs in 20 balls while Mamta Kothiyal remained unbeaten on 13 off 19. Uttrakhand could only score 73 runs losing 4 wickets in their allotted 17 overs.

Result: Punjab won by 53 runs.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here