Group C: Round V – Hyderabad and Karnataka defeat Pondicherry and Nagaland by 10 wickets – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019

Group C: Round V – Hyderabad and Karnataka win by 10 wickets over Pondicherry and Nagaland – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019

It was a day of dominant wins for Group C winners. The Round V matches of Group C took place in Mumbai on Sunday. After the first game of Baroda vs Tripura was abandoned, the rest two games took place at the BKC Ground, Mumbai. Both Karnataka and Hyderabad had dominant wins over Nagaland and Pondicherry respectively.

Date: 20 October 2019

Match 1: Cricket Association of Pondicherry vs Hyderabad

Venue: BKC Ground, Mumbai

Hyderabad had a walkover Pondicherry in what was a reduced match. The game which was played as a 12 over game per side saw Pondicherry batting first. Only number 3 batter Karuna Jain scored above ten. She made an unbeaten 24 in 27 balls. Captain Latika Kumari scored 7 in 10 balls which was the second-highest score of the match. Pondicherry put up a score of 43 runs losing 5 wickets.

In reply, Hyderabad chased the target in only 3.2 overs out of their allotted 12. Openers Kota Vijay and Sravanthi Naidu saw the team through as Hyderabad didn’t lose any wickets. While Vijay scored 11 in 8 balls, Naidu made 27 in 12 balls before they reached the target of 44.

Result: Hyderabad won by 10 wickets.

Match 2: Karnataka vs Nagaland

Venue: BKC Ground, Mumbai

The Karnataka vs Nagaland was again a reduced over match. 8 overs were allotted to each innings. Captain Vaincy Chaudhary and Rupsena Khatun started the proceedings from Nagaland’s side. The captain departed at 6(8) after Veda Krishnamurthy caught her off Sahana Pawar’s bowling. Khatun remained not out on 14(21) while Madhumonti Bhattacharya made 8 runs from 11 as she also remained not out. The other wicket which fell was that of Faisal Khan who was caught by Rakshitha of Prathyusha Challuru on 3(8).

Also Read:  Road to the semis: How Railways, Bengal, Baroda and Vidarbha made to the top 4 of Senior Women's T20 Trophy 2019

Karnataka had a steady start with openers Vanitha Ramu Vellaswamy and Divya G Gnanananda scoring 26(12) and 8(8) respectively. Karnataka chased the target in 3.2 overs only.

Result: Karnataka won by 10 wickets.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here