Twitter Reactions: RCB Crowned WPL Champions beating Delhi Capitals

After 17 years of sticking with their team through all the highs and lows, disappointments and heartbreaks in the finals of 2009, 2011 and 2016 finals. The RCB fans and the franchise finally have their time in sunlight. Ee saala Cup Namde is finally a reality. The girls in red and gold have broken the jinx as they beat the Delhi Capitals in the final of the second edition of the Women’s Premier League. Smriti Mandhana has transcended into the lists of elites to have donned the RCB colours. With a campaign full of ups and downs RCB finally ended their trophy drought. Twitter Reacts as RCB win Women’s Premier League

Twitter Reactions RCB Crowned WPL Champions beating Delhi Capitals
Twitter Reactions RCB Crowned WPL Champions beating Delhi Capitals

Having beaten Mumbai Indians for the first time this season, another daunting head-to-head record was waiting for RCB in the final. The Delhi Capitals had never lost to RCB in the short history of the tournament.

With a 4-0 record in their favour, the Delhi Capitals started the finals as the favourites. Delhi Capitals skipper Meg Lanning won the toss and elected to bat first. A great start from Shafali and Meg Lanning saw the Delhi Capitals in a strong position at the end of the powerplay. A collapse triggered by Sophie Molineux found the Capitals reeling, losing all 10 wickets for just 49 additional runs. Shreyanka Patil and Sophie Molineux shone with the ball, taking figures of 4/12 and 3/20 respectively, while Asha Shobhana also contributed with 2 wickets. This performance restricted the Capitals to a below-par total. Shreyanka Patil claimed the Purple Cap for the season with 13 wickets in 8 games.

Also Read:  WPL 2024: SWOT Analysis of Gujarat Giants (GG)

Facing a challenging target, the RCB openers ensured a confident start to the chase. Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Devine forged a strong opening partnership of 49 runs. Mandhana scored 31 off 39 balls, while Devine contributed 32 off 27 balls. Ellyse Perry played a crucial role, guiding the team to victory alongside Richa Ghosh. Perry’s outstanding performance throughout the tournament with the bat earned her the Orange Cap as the highest run-scorer, accumulating 347 runs.

Despite tense moments, the RCB team maintained their composure, securing an 8-wicket victory over the Delhi Capitals. Unfortunately for Delhi, their quest for a trophy continues with this being their second consecutive final loss.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here