Turkey withdraws from ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier

The International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed and announced that Turkey would not be a part of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifiers this year. The reason being that necessary approval and travel documentation required due to Covid-19 restrictions for the team was not secured from the Turkish Sports Ministry.


Turkey Women's Cricket Team. PC: https://en.baaghitv.com/
Turkey Women’s Cricket Team. PC: https://en.baaghitv.com/


The Qualifier will now be seen as a five-team tournament that will commence on Thursday in La Manga, Spain. The tournament will be broadcasted via live streaming to fans from across the globe.

ICC Regional Development Manager — Europe, Andy Wright stated, “It is with great regret that Turkey will not be taking part in the Europe Qualifier at La Manga. We have been in communication with the federation over the past month to provide any assistance to secure their arrival into Spain in time for the event and would like to thank the federation for their efforts in trying to secure the documentation.”

Wright added, “We have worked closely with the remaining participating teams and the event will now be played as a five-team tournament. We are looking forward to seeing play getting underway tomorrow in what is still set to be a very competitive event.”

Following are the revised fixtures:

August 26, 2021- Scotland v/s Netherlands ; Ireland v/s Germany ; France v/s Netherlands

August 27, 2021- Germany v/s France ; Ireland v/s Scotland ; Netherlands v/s Germany

August 28, 2021- Rest Day

Also Read:  All you need to know about Women's T20 World Cup Europe Qualifiers 2021 | Squad | Schedule

August 29, 2021- France v/s Ireland ; Scotland v/s Germany

August 30, 2021- Ireland v/s Netherlands ; Scotland v/s France

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here