Summary: Day 1 – Women’s Senior One Day Trophy 2019-20

Baroda 143 v Maharashtra 139
Baroda Won by 4 Runs

Baroda set a modest target of 144 after contributions from Tarannum Pathan and J Mohite. The second innings saw Anuja Patil and Anagha D stitch a vital partnership in the middle. But Maharashtra failed to chase the target and were bundled out for 139 at the end of 38 overs, courtesy Baroda bowler Kesha picking up 5 wickets.

Bengal 193 vs Karnataka 194/6
Karnataka Won by 4 Wickets

Batting first, Paramita Roy (43) top-scored for Bengal. Karnataka bowlers Chandu V and Niki Prasad scalped 4 and 3 wickets each to restrict Bengal to 193. The second innings saw an impressive opening partnership of 97 between Vanitha VR (64) and S Shubha (48). G Divya contributed a vital 30 in the middle and Karnataka took the match home by 4 wickets.

Goa 92 vs Railways 199/4
Railways Won by 107 Runs

Half-centuries from Punam Raut, M D Thirushkamini and Mithali Raj set the template for Railways’ win. The second innings saw Goa getting a decent start from its openers. Middle-order batters failing to capitalize on the foundation were bundled out on single-digit scores, thereby registering a 107 run loss. Sneh Rana lapped up 6 wickets while Asha S picked 4 for Railways.

Andhra 201/6 vs Mumbai 197
Andhra Won by 4 Wickets

Batting first, Vrushali Bhagat (36), Sayali Satghare (57) and Manali Dakshini(43) took the Mumbai innings to 197. Half-centuries from P V Sudharani and E Padmaja guided Andhra to a comfortable 4 wicket victory over Mumbai.

Chhattisgarh 72 vs Kerala 75/2
Kerala Won by 8 Wickets

Chattisgarh were bowled out for a paltry 72, courtesy extremely economical and attacking bowling by the Kerela bowling unit. The ensuing chase turned out to be a cakewalk for team Kerela with Deepthi J S (28) and Jincy George (37) guiding the team to a comfortable finish.

Also Read:  Summary: Day 5 – Women’s Senior One Day Trophy 2019-20

Assam 145 vs Saurashtra 146/8
Saurashtra Won by 1 Run

Batting first Saurashtra put 146 runs on board. The second innings saw a half-century from Assam captain Monikha Das, which unfortunately ended in a losing cause. Assam lost the match by 1 run because the team failed to hold their nerves in crucial moments towards the end of the match.

Delhi 214/6 vs Odisha 216/6
Odisha Won by 4 Wickets

97 from Mandeep Kaur and 62 from Priya Punia led Delhi to an impressive first inning total of 214. However, a strong batting display and half-centuries from wicketkeeper Pragyan P Mohanty and all-rounder Sushree Dibyadarshini turned the tide and guided Odisha to a 4 wicket win over Delhi.

Gujarat 114 vs Madhya Pradesh 179
Madhya Pradesh Won by 65 Runs

Batting first, Madhya Pradesh posted 179 on board with Babita Mandlik top-scoring; with 72 runs. Gujarat women saw decent contributions coming in from the bat of Bhavana Goplani and captain Renuka Chaudhari. However, losing wickets at regular intervals to misjudgments and frequent run-outs saw Gujarat falling short of the target by 65 runs.

Hyderabad 160 vs Rajasthan 166/6
Rajasthan Won by 6 Runs

Batting first, Rajasthan finished with 166 onboard. TB Vaishnav remained not out and top-scored with 60 runs. Hyderabad had a somewhat distraught start to the chase, losing the top order early on. Vital redemption by the middle order took them close to the target but ultimately the team fell short of 6 runs from victory.

J & K 163/8 vs Sikkim 162
J & K Won by 1 Run

The chase saw Sikkim captain Ananya Upendran hit a magnificent century (108 runs off 109 balls). But she could not take her side to the finish line as a batting collapse saw Sikkim stay excruciatingly short of the target by a single run. Earlier in the day, she was also responsible for restricting J&K to a paltry total when she took a four-for with her seaming skills.

Also Read:  Summary: Day 8 – Women’s Senior One Day Trophy 2019-20

Meghalaya 114 vs Nagaland 202/7
Nagaland Won by 88 Runs

Vaincy Chaudhary (32), Ayantika (37) Madhumonti (34) and Munia(44) posted an impressive first inning total of 202 for Nagaland. The second half saw Naga bowlers Trisha Nair and Nazma picking up three wickets each to dismantle the Meghalaya chase.

Cricket fanatic, Dreamer,
Eat, Sleep, Cricket, Repeat.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here