Video: Women’s Premier League: Official Mascot “Shakti” Unveiled

On Thursday, the Women’s Premier League’s (WPL) official mascot was unveiled by Jay Shah, secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The WPL’s official mascot is called “Shakti,” and she wears a blue jersey and looks like a tigress. Five teams—Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz—spent a lot of money on the inaugural edition to bring in some of the top players on the national and international circuits.


Women's Premier League: Official Mascot "Shakti" Unveiled
Women’s Premier League: Official Mascot “Shakti” Unveiled


Animated footage of the mascot, a tigress dressed in cricket gear and viciously striking the ball out of the stadiums was shared on social channels. The forthcoming tournament’s theme song, “Ye toh bas shuruat hai,” is also included in the clip. The song, which was just released, is a homage to Indian women cricketers who overcame many obstacles to succeed. Fast, fierce, and filled with fire! Lekin #YehTohBasShuruatHai, she’s prepared to ignite the field! Presenting #Shakti, our team’s mascot and embodiment of the #TATAWPL! Jay Shah posted a video sharing the mascot and theme tune.

The league’s inaugural game between Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians will take place at the DY Patil Stadium on March 4th. It will host a total of 20 league games and two playoff contests, all of which will take place over the course of 23 days. The first match will begin at 3:30 PM IST, and there will be four doubleheaders in all.

Also Read:  What did Sachin Tendulkar say about Women's Premier League?

Schedule of Women’s Premier League 2023

All evening matches will begin at 7:30 PM IST. The DY Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai will host a combined total of 11 matches apiece. On March 21 at the Brabourne Stadium, CCI, UP Warriorz and Delhi Capitals will meet in the last league match. On March 24, The Eliminator will be held at the DY Patil Stadium. On March 26, 2023, the Women’s Premier League Final will take place at the Brabourne Stadium.

The WPL, the second-largest T20 league in the world after the Indian Premier League, will feature five clubs competing for the championship trophy in its maiden season this year.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here