Most Successful Team in Women’s Cricket World Cup so far?

We’re less than a month away from the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022. The mega event is scheduled to take place from 4th March to 3rd April 2022 in New Zealand.

Eight teams will take part in what will be the 12th edition of the 50-over World Cup.


1973 Women's Cricket World Cup Winner. Pic Credits: ICC
1973 Women’s Cricket World Cup Winner. Pic Credits: ICC


Let’s dive a little deeper into the history of this magnificent tournament. The inaugural World Cup was held in England in 1973 two years prior to the Men’s World Cup. Before 2005 due to financial difficulties, the tournament took place with a six-year gap. However, since 2005 the tournament has been held at regular four-year intervals.

The inaugural edition was won by England in 1973. In the eleven World Cups held so far, Australia has been the most successful team having won six titles.

England has four titles to its name while the current hosts New Zealand has one.


New Zealand Women's team beat Australia by just 4 Runs in 2000 World Cup. Creator: Scott Barbour | Credit: Getty Images
New Zealand Women’s team beat Australia by just 4 Runs in 2000 World Cup. Creator: Scott Barbour | Credit: Getty Images


England is the reigning champion having won the World Cup in 2017, Anya Shrubsole was the Player of the Match in the final with figures of 6/46 in 9.4 overs. Tammy Beaumont scored 410 runs throughout the tournament, she was adjudged the Player of the Tournament in 2017.

The record for most runs scored in World Cups belongs to New Zealand’s Debbie Hockley. She also holds the record for most runs in a tournament (456 runs in the 1997s World Cup).

Lyn Fullston, a slow left-arm orthodox from Australia holds the record for most wickets(39 wickets) in World Cups and also has the most wickets in a tournament(23 in 1982s World Cup).

Also Read:  New Zealand gearing up to host Women's World Cup amidst rising Omicron Concerns

The next decade is an exciting one for Women’s cricket and its fans with a major ICC women’s tournament scheduled to take place every year from 2022-2031. New events, more teams, and more matches are being added to the mix.

New Zealand being the hosts will have a slight advantage of going all the way in the tournament. England, India, South Africa, and West Indies can also surprise us.

However, the No. 1 ranked Australians are the hot-favorites to win a record seventh title. They are the 2020 T20 World Cup winners and have displayed exceptional grit and dominance in the ongoing Women’s Ashes series.


Year Host(s) Winners
1973  England  England
20 points
1978  India  Australia
6 points
1982  New Zealand  Australia
152/7 (59 overs)
1988  Australia  Australia
129/2 (44.5 overs)
1993  England  England
195/5 (60 overs)
1997  India  Australia
165/5 (47.4 overs)
2000  New Zealand  New Zealand
184 (48.4 overs)
2005  South Africa  Australia
215/4 (50 overs)
2009  Australia  England
167/6 (46.1 overs)
2013  India  Australia
259/7 (50 overs)
2017  England  England
228/7 (50 overs)

Liked the story? Leave a comment here