Team Preview: Brisbane Heat in WBBL 2019 – Fixtures, Squad, Key Players

The champions of the WBBL04!! The team whose performance graph has kept on going up and down in the last 3 seasons.

Brisbane Heat
Brisbane Heat. Pic Credits

Team News:

The team consists of a mixture of both young and experienced players. Coming to the experience, they have players like southpaw Beth Mooney and Jess Jonassen who are the part of Southern Stars team for a long time, they have the experienced all-rounder Delissa Kimmince too. The team is lead by Kirby Short, who has a lot of experience in the domestic circuit.

Overseas International:

Brisbane heat has replaced their SA overseas players with Kiwis Amelia Kerr and Maddy Green. Laura Wolvaardt and Sune Luus were the two overseas players last season.

Key Players:

Though players like Mooney, Jonassen etc are in the team, the reason behind this team’s success last year was the performance of their All-rounders.
Especially, players like Grace Harris and Sammy Jo-Jo Johnson these two have been phenomenal with their All round performance and hard-hitting ability. Grace Harris has scored a ton in the previous season, whereas Johnson is one among the players with good strike rate with both bat and bowl.

Overall the team looks balanced and settled. Hope, they defend the championship successfully which is not an easy thing to do.

Full Squad:

Coach: Peter McGiffin

Team :

Lilly Mills, Charli Knott, Haidee Birkett, Maddy Green (NZ), Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Mikayla Hinkley, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Jess Jonassen (Aus), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Delissa Kimmince (Aus), Beth Mooney (Aus), Georgia Prestwidge, Kirby Short (c), Courtney Sippel.

WBBL Record so far:

Also Read:  From Kia Super League to Women's Big Bash League: Trevor Griffin named Sydney Thunder head coach

2015: 6th position

2016: Semifinals

2017: 5th position


Fixures :

October 19 v Sixers, North Sydney Oval (7.10 pm)

October 20 v Thunder, North Sydney Oval (2.10 pm)

October 26 v Scorchers, AB Field (1.10 pm)

October 27 v Hurricanes, AB Field (1.10 pm)

November 2 v Strikers, Harrup Park, Mackay (6.15 pm)

November 3 v Strikers, Harrup Park, Mackay (3 pm)

November 9 v Sixers, North Sydney Oval (3 pm)

November 13 v Stars, Junction Oval (2 pm)

November 16 v Thunder, Drummoyne Oval (7.10 pm)

November 17 v Scorchers, Drummoyne Oval l (10 am)

November 20 v Renegades, Junction Oval (10 am)

November 22 v Hurricanes, Blundstone Arena (7.10 pm)

November 27 v Renegades, AB Field (1.10 pm)

December 1 v Stars, Junction Oval (3 pm)

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here