History Made: Adelaide Strikers sign 16-year-old pacer Darcie Brown, youngest player ever

Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) team Adelaide Strikers have signed their youngest ever player for the next season of the league. 16-year-old Darcie Brown thus becomes the youngest ever player to be signed by the franchise in the history of WBBL.

Darcie Brown Adelaide Strikers
Earlier this year, Darcie Brown was selected for U-19 Australian side at just 15 years of age (Adelaide Strikers Twitter Photo)

Darcie Brown is one of the fastest female pacers in the country. She can clock in the speeds of 116 kilometers per hour. Earlier this year, Brown was selected in the under 19 Australian teams which had toured New Zealand to play a series against their development squad. She was just 15 years old then.

Adelaide Strikers have signed a three year deal with the young pacer. She will join the squad from this season onwards.

As reported by India Today, head coach Luke Williams said in an official statement that they are excited to have young pacer Darcie in the team. Her game revolves around bowling fast, so the team hopes that given an opportunity, she will bowl with good speed and add a difference to the side. Williams also added that raw pace is Darcie’s strength and she’s learning more about the game tactics and variations.

Before the WBBL actually starts, the team will have to play two games against the ICC Global Women’s Development Squad. This is an initiative taken by ICC to give match exposure to female players from cricket developing nations.

The Adelaide Strikers will be playing their first WBBL match on October 19, Saturday at Karen Rolton Oval where they will take on Melbourne Renegades.

Also Read:  Aussie legend Alex Blackwell bids adieau to all forms of cricket

The team will be missing their key players like Megan Schutt of Australia and Stafanie Taylor of West Indies for the initial games who will be on their respective national duties.

Adelaide Strikers squad: Megan Schutt, Stafanie Taylor, Darcie Brown, Tegan McPharlin, Alex Price, Annie O’Neil, Sarah Coyte, Katie Mack, Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Bridget Patterson, Ellie Falconer, Tahlia McGrath, Lauren Winfield, Amanda-Jade Wellington, and Tabatha Saville.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here