Brazil Women win the South American Cricket Championship two years in a row

Last year’s defending champions Brazil walked away with the trophy this time too, winning over Argentina by 4 wickets in the final. Brazil women remained unbeaten in the whole tournament, successfully defending their title in the end.

Brazil Women's Cricket team
Brazil Women’s Cricket team

The South America Cricket Championship is a limited-overs tournament which is played by national teams of South America and other invited teams. The 2019 edition of the tournament was held in Peru, all the matches being given Women’s Twenty20 International status.

The tournament was played between 5 countries – Peru, Brazil, Argentina, Chile, and Mexico who played games against each other in a round-robin format.

Defending champions Brazil won every game in the round-robin stage, having won over Chile by 9 wickets in their first fixture. They also had a comfortable victory over Peru, winning by 162 runs. Brazil also won over Mexico by 98 runs. In the game against Argentina, Brazil bowled out their opponents in the 14th overs and then chased down the target of 71 in the 15th over itself.

Also Read: Our Exclusive report on Brazil Women’s cricket 

At the end of the pool stage, Brazil was standing first and Argentina was second in the table, the latter having won all the games except the one against Brazil. Chile came third winning two and losing two, while Mexico could only manage one win, the game against Peru. Hosts Peru couldn’t manage a single win in the tournament, standing at the bottom of the table.

Also Read : CanAm United Women’s Cricket Association nurturing female cricketers in America

Also Read:  11 Teams to Compete in Kwibuka Women's T20 Tournament 2022

The final was held between the top two teams of the tournament – Brazil and Argentina on 6th October. Brazil women won the toss and elected to field first. Put into bat, Argentina women could only score 73 runs before losing all their wickets in the 17th over. In reply, Brazil women chased the score with more than 3 overs to spare and won by 4 wickets.

Brazil women won the final and were declared the champions of South American Cricket Championship 2019.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here