Everything You Need to know about Women’s Ashes 2021-22 Series

After a successful defense of the Ashes urn by the men’s team from Australia, it’s now time to switch focus towards Meg Lanning and co as they try to add another victory to the Australian summer.

In less than 24 hours from now, the oldest cricket rivals will take the stage once again in one of the greatest cricket competitions. In the article, we bring to you all that you need to know before the first T20I gets underway.


Everything you need to know about Women's Ashes 2021-22 Series. PC: cricket.com.au
Everything you need to know about Women’s Ashes 2021-22 Series. PC: cricket.com.au

Are Women’s Ashes similar to Men’s Ashes? Points System

No, since 2013, Women’s Ashes is a point-based multi-format competition consisting of 1 Test (4 days long), 3 ODIs, and 3 T20Is.

4 points are awarded for a Test victory (2 to each team in case of a draw)

2 points are awarded for a victory in each of the ODIs and T20Is (1 each in case of a tie, match abandoned/no result)

For the first time in a women’s bilateral series in Australia, the Decision Review System (DRS) will be available


· 2 reviews per team in each of the ODIs and T20Is

· 3 reviews per team per innings in Test

Which team has been dominating the Women’s Ashes?


They have successfully retained the Ashes for the last three seasons:


2017-18: 8-8 (Draw)

2019: 12-4

However, England won the first two seasons since the multi-format competition was introduced (2013, 2013-14)

Where will the 2021-22 Women’s Ashes take place?

Like the Men’s Ashes, Women’s Ashes would also take place in Australia. The competition will begin in Adelaide with the 3 T20Is and then move on to Canberra for the Test and the first ODI, ending in Melbourne which will host the last two ODIs.

Also Read:  Heather Knight backs domestic contracts to improve women's cricket in England

Record for Last 2 Women’s Ashes in Australia-:

2013-14- England Won (12-4)

2017-18- Draw (8-8, Aus retained the Ashes)

Performance of both the teams in 2021-:

Last year, both Australia and England played against India and New Zealand

Australia against-:

New Zealand: March 28 to April 10 (ODIs- 3/3, T20I-1/3 (1 was no result))

India: September 21 to October 10 (ODIs- 2/3, T20I- 2/3 (1 was no result), Test- Draw)

England against-:

New Zealand: February 23 to March 7 (ODIs-2/3, T20Is- 3/3) and September 1 to September 26 (ODIs- 4/5, T20Is- 2/3)

India: June 16 to July 14 (ODIs- 2/3, T20Is- 2/3, Test- Draw)

Where to watch the Matches?

Those in Australia, can purchase the tickets and watch the match directly from the stadium.

LIVE Broadcast on TV- Seven Network and Fox Sports, BT Sport (UK)

Website/App- cricket.com.au and CA Live app (stream via Kayo Sports)

Radio Coverage- ABC Grandstand

Squad for 2021-22 Women’s Ashes (AUS v ENG)-:

Australia: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck

England: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver (vc), Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt

What are Australia ‘A’ and England ‘A’?

Following the tour of Australia, A to the UK that run parallelly to the Women’s Ashes of 2019, England decided to bring a ‘A’ team with them.

Also Read:  Cricket Australia’s move to start WBBL at the start of summer proves to be fruitful

It consists of some upcoming talents from both the sides who have a potential to make it to the main squad in the time to come. In fact, these players are said to be the ones who could find a position in the main squad if in case need arises.

The ‘A’ times will play 6 limited over matches alongside the Women’s Ashes.

Squads for Australia A v England A-:

Australia A: Georgia Redmayne (c), Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Phoebe Litchfield, Katie Mack, Courtney Sippel, Molly Strano, Elyse Villani, Georgia Voll, Amanda-Jade Wellington

England A: Emily Arlott, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Alice Davidson-Richards, Georgia Elwiss, Kirstie Gordon, Eve Jones, Beth Langston, Emma Lamb, Bryony Smith, Ellie Threlkeld, Issy Wong

Schedule for 2021-22 Women’s Ashes (AUS v ENG)-:


Author of the poetry book ‘The Scent of Rhythm’, I am a passionate writer and a Sports enthusiast who writes on Cricket and plays Badminton.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here