Sana Mir is the captain of Wisden team of the decade

Sana Mir is the captain of Wisden team of the decade

Pakistan’s former skipper Sana Mir has been named as the captain of the Wisden women’s team of the decade. Mir, who has captained the national women’s cricket team of her country for a considerable time, has been selected by Wisden as the captain of the team of the decade.

Sana Mir
Sana Mir

Sana Mir has featured in the team alongside some veterans of the game such as Suzie Bates, Charlotte Edwards, Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami to name a few. She is the only Pakistani player to feature in the Wisden XI.

Mir has had a phenomenal cricketing decade. She is the only woman cricketer from Pakistan to take over 100 ODI wickets. Featuring in 89 ODIs in the decade, she has 120 scalps to her name. She has taken 80 wickets playing in 100 T20Is during this period as well. Mir forms the bowling line-up of the Wisden XI alongside Jhulan Goswami, Katherine Brunt, and Dane Van Niekerk.

Social media was flooded with the cricketing fraternity congratulating Sana Mir. Compatriots and fellow male cricketers Shoaib Malik and Wahab Riaz too congratulated her.

Wisden has named Suzie Bates as one of their openers, who also becomes the lone player from New Zealand to feature in the team. She is partnered by England’s Charlotte Edwards at the top. Wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor and pacer Katherine Brunt are the other two English players to make to the list.

Current national team captain Meg Lanning and all-rounder Ellyse Perry are the two Australian players who have been selected in the team of the decade alongside Protean Dane Van Niekerk and West Indian batter Stafanie Taylor. Experienced cricketers Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami are the ones to have made to the eleven from India.

Here is the Wisden Women’s Team of the Decade:

1. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

2. Charlotte Edwards (England)

3. Meg Lanning (Australia)

4. Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

5. Mithali Raj (India)

6. Ellyse Perry (Australia)

7. Sarah Taylor (wk – England)

8. Dane Van Niekerk (South Africa)

9. Katherine Brunt (England)

10. Sana Mir (c – Pakistan)

11. Jhulan Goswami (India)


Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Match 20: Pakistan vs West Indies Women | Squad | Fantasy XI | Players to Watch | Live Streaming

Liked the story? Leave a comment here