Newcastle City clinches victory in NDCA Women’s championship

Newcastle City has emerged victorious in the finale of First-ever NDCA Women’s Championship and has scripted history with the first premiership and championship double while the legacy club topped the regular season undefeated to claim the title.

Newcastle Women's Team
Newcastle Women’s Team (

City batted first in the title fight against Waratah-Mayfield and set up a target of 114 in 20 overs with a loss of four wickets. Abbey Taylor lead the innings while adding 30 runs to the scoreboard and made sure that her side came down to defend in a good position, while Clare Webber (24), Kirsten Smith (17), Kelsey Miller (16), and Maddison McGuigan (13*) added to the pile. Taylor and McGuigan tailored partnership of 50 runs in the ending overs. Emma Jayne Howe and captain Fiona Mackenzie were the standouts in Waratah-Mayfield’s attack.

Then came down Waratah-Mayfield to chase down City’s run, and were sent back in quick successions with City’s explosive bowling which was lead by Sienna Eve picking up 3 wickets and she also bagged her player of the finale award, Skye Lovett started strong for Waratah-Mayfield, slamming a handful of boundaries for the team but consistent falling of wickets didn’t prove useful for the runner ups. Howe (20*) and Cassandra McLaren (10*) were able to bring some stability to the innings but the side eventually fell short of 40 runs by the end of final over.

Smith, Eve, Miller, Webber, Thea Graham, Abbey Taylor, Milah Riley, Millie Kohl, Simone McGuigan, Maddison McGuigan, Sarah Burns, and Ashlie Stapleton now enter Newcastle District Cricket history as the first eleven women’s champions. The excitement was already build-up ahead of the first season and with yet another success players can’t wait to see more teams join in 2020 and beyond, and the league itself to grow into a longer event. “It’s a competition that’s going to grow and grow,” Smith said to the Herald after City’s 39-run victory. “It’s a really good opportunity for women’s cricket so it’s really exciting to be the first winners.”

NDCA officials have confirmed they will be again hosting the Women’s T20 competition next year.

Source: The Hunter Women’s Chronicle