Malaysia takes away the title of Saudari Cup 2019 by beating Singapore 3-0

Malaysia takes away the title of Saudari Cup 2019 by beating Singapore 3-0
The 2018 Saudari Cup winning Malaysia Women team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Saudari Cup a series which is played between Women teams from Malaysia and Singapore saw its 6th edition this year. Though it’s inception happened back in 2014, it received the international status of WT20I last year when the series was hosted by Malaysia.

Entering into the series this year the defending champions, Malaysia, who won the series 4-2 last year and all the previous edition, showed everyone that they are the champions for a reason by making an impact as they not only won the first match of the 3 match series but took away the series 3-0 and clinched the tittle away from the host, Singapore yet again.

Winifred Duraisingam led Malaysian side overpowered the Singapore team in all the three matches in all the three departments. They won the first T20I which was held on 28th August by a margin of 22 runs where Ainna Hamizah Hashim bagged the player of the match award. With the captain improvising in the second and the third game, as she took away the player of the match in both the games, as the team won by 9 wickets and 30 runs respectively, and hence winning the series.

With GK Diviya, Winifred Duraisingam and Mas Elysa equaling the highest score, that’s 111 and Haresh Dhavina and Ainna Hamizah Hashim equaling the number of wickets, that’s 3 each.

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  ACC announces the schedule for the Women’s Premier Cup 2024
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here