ACC Announces Revised Schedule for Women’s Asia Cup 2024

On 25th June 2024, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) announced a slight change in the schedule for the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Women’s Asia Cup 2024. The tournament, featuring the top 8 women’s cricket teams in Asia, will run from July 19th to July 28th, 2024, in Dambulla, Sri Lanka. The updated schedule affects the first two matches for teams in Group A, which includes India, Nepal, Pakistan, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

ACC Announces Revised Schedule for Women's Asia Cup 2024
ACC Announces Revised Schedule for Women’s Asia Cup 2024

The highly anticipated clash between India and Pakistan will now take place in the second half of the opening day instead of the previously scheduled date of July 21st. Additionally, the match between the United Arab Emirates and Nepal has been moved to the opening day.

On July 21st, defending champions India will face the United Arab Emirates, and Pakistan will take on Nepal.

Group B, consisting of Bangladesh, Malaysia, hosts Sri Lanka, and Thailand, will retain its original schedule without any changes.

After the group stage matches, the top two teams from both Group A and Group B will advance to the semifinals on July 26th, 2024. The final will be held on July 28th, 2024.

The ACC Women’s Asia Cup is a biennial tournament, established in 2004, and played in both One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) formats. With the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup scheduled to take place in Bangladesh later this year, this edition of the Asia Cup will be played in the T20 format, serving as a good lead-up tournament for the Asian teams.

As far as squad announcements go, only Bangladesh has announced theirs so far –

Bangladesh Squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2024:

Nigar Sultana (C), Nahida Akter (VC), Murshida Khatun, Dilara Akter, Rumana Ahmed, Ritu Moni, Marufa Akter, Jahanara Alam, Rabeya Khan, Sultana Khatun, Rubya Haider, Shorna Akter, Ishma Tanjim, Sabikun Nahar, and Shorifa Khatun

2024 Asia Cup Schedule:

United Arab Emirates v Nepal 2:00 PM
India v Pakistan 7:00 PM
Malaysia v Thailand 2:00 PM
Sri Lanka v Bangladesh 7:00 PM
India v United Arab Emirates 2:00 PM
Pakistan v Nepal 7:00 PM
Sri Lanka v Malaysia 2:00 PM
Bangladesh v Thailand 7:00 PM
Pakistan v United Arab Emirates 2:00 PM
India v Nepal 7:00 PM
Bangladesh v Malaysia 2:00 PM
Sri Lanka v Thailand 7:00 PM
Semi-Final 1 2:00 PM
Semi-Final 2 7:00 PM
28-Jul-24 Final 7:00 PM
Also Read:  Squads for Senior Women's Challenger Trophy 2019 announced
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here